I’m still waiting on Createspace, to okay the cover and let me order a proof copy of the paperback. After that, the paperback should finally go live.

Meanwhile, I’m thinking ahead to when the full novel is released.

I’ve heard about {from other authors} and read a lot of marketing strategies over the past few days. All of them have several things in common, but one in particular stands out to me.

A press release.

It’s basically a public announcement that the product {is this case the book} is available, what it is, and what it’s about. In the case of books, it includes the different formats {e-book, paperback, hardback, ect} that it will be released in, your name, ect.

I’ve asked a lot of questions and gained a lot of knowledge from traditionally published Authors and other self published Authors. Traditionally published Authors don’t have to worry about the press release, because their publishers or agents handle those details.

Self publishing, means I’ll have to handle that myself. Now that I know what to put in the press release, I just need to research where to send it to get it into the mainstream media.

My self publishing journey never seems to end. Despite a few bumps in the road, it’s been an exciting, and enlightening experience so far. I never even thought about a press release when I wrote out my marketing plan. {I’ve noted to myself to include that for the next book’s marketing plan. Live and learn.} So now I’m working on the press release and then I’ll set it aside so that I’ll have it ready for the full length novel release.

Personally, I like to be prepared ahead of time. So, the more prep work I do when I can’t write, or get it critiqued, the more productive I feel. Plus, I’ll be less stressed when the time comes to launch the full novel. Since the prep work is broken up over a lengthy period, as opposed to being left till the last minute, I won’t feel so overwhelmed either.

What about you? Do you like to leave everything till the last minute and do a last minute rush? Or, do you like to spread it out over time so that it will be all ready when it’s time to launch?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

14 responses »

  1. rlmorgan51 says:

    There’s a great group on Linkedin.com
    “New Authors Need Marketing Ideas”
    I’d check it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll be sure to check it out. I’m already a member of several writing groups on LinkedIn. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Catrina,
    I always plan ahead, research and make a list of what needs to be done, when and how. I feel more in control when I know ahead of time what I have to do next ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congratulations on finishing your book. Is this a full length novel? What genre?

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hi Angela, welcome back, and thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I like to be organized most times. Especially when it comes to my books and marketing.

      What’s out right now is the five chapter preview. It’s YA Paranormal Adventure/Romance.The full novel should be done in time for Christmas. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. My Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/a-new-hurdle/ […]…

  4. URL says:

    I believe one of your commercials caused my internet browser to resize, you might nicely want to put that on your blacklist. 629686

  5. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/a-new-hurdle/ […]…

  6.   says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Find More Informations here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/a-new-hurdle/ […]…

  7. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/a-new-hurdle/ […]…

  8. … [Trackback]…

    […] Find More Informations here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/a-new-hurdle/ […]…

  9. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/a-new-hurdle/ […]…

  10. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/a-new-hurdle/ […]…

  11. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/a-new-hurdle/ […]…

Feel free to leave a Reply