Okay, so as you all know I’ve been writing up a storm lately. Well, Aug 15th I released my #Christian #ShortStroy/Slice-of-life {Meaning it’s based on a real key moment in my life.} titled Never Forget.

By the way, this isn’t about “bragging rights” to me. This post is a validation that I do know what I’m talking about in my #MarketingMondays tips/posts. It’s proof for all of you out there that I’m not just blowing smoke {for lack of a better way to phrase that. }

On the 16th I saw this:

Never Forget top 100's

Which completely took my by surprise.  I figured that’s as good as it would get, right? Especially since this is my second published work and first short story/slice-of-life. I was super thrilled just to make the top 100’s list.

Well… This morning I discovered this:

Never Forget Top 100's Lists 2

Which complete blew my mind. My hands shook a bit and I blinked several times just to make sure I wasn’t imagining things, before I snapped out of my daze and screen capped it.

it’s been out two days and already reached three of the top 100’s lists!

Now, bear in mind I don’t have a street team yet. I haven’t even started to put one together, but it is something I’ve considered. However, since I’m just starting out, I’m unsure how many fans I have yet.{Something I plan to go into detail about for Marketing Mondays.}

Granted #NeverForget is only $0.99 and that may or may not have anything to do with how successful it is so far, but still… I haven’t even done much to promote it yet. I just now finished making a media kit for it.  Given all of that, these results are astounding!  My heart is racing, palms sweating just a bit and my mind keeps screaming OMG! lol.

Never Forget 3

*Side note* That’s not an accurate representation of me by any means. I have brown hair {as you’ve seen in my author picture} but the pier and fishing and plaid shirt in the summer is accurate.

Blurb:

A fifteen year-old Christian girl, on the brink of losing her faith in mankind as a whole… until one old man’s kindness and generosity changes her life forever.

Excerpt:

Why does the whole world have to take a shot at me? I rubbed my tight shoulder and stomped on a bug, grinding it under my foot. Go away you nasty thing.

My shoulders hunched and my chin fell to my chest, eyes closed as something heavy settled in my belly. Great, now I’m attacking little critters? I swallowed in an attempt to hold back the tears that stung my eyes. One hand gripped the wooden rail to keep me from falling to my knees as the depression closed in around me, making my stomach toss like waves.

Please God, there has to be at least some decency out in the cruel, harsh world. I can’t take it anymore. Help me be rid of my bitterness. My constant anger has left me miserable.

Buy Links:

Amazon US.

I find it Ironic to have already achieved yet another unforgettable moment in my life and my writing career. I’m a bit freaked out here, but in a good way. Wow! I’m completely awed by how quick this happened, especially from the story of an life altering event.

*deep breath*

Thanks to everyone who has encouraged me and supported me. You are all amazing! I feel as if I’ve won an esteemed award and am so touched by this that I teared up. I feel so loved and am grateful that my readers enjoy my stories. It was difficult to write this piece, because it gives everyone a look into the very heart of who I am and why I am the way I am.

***

Updated 08-18-2013:

Final results for Never Forget.

Never Forget Top 100's 4

Have you ever reached any top 100’s lists? What are some of your unforgettable moments in life? How old were you when you had an event alter your life completely?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

Feel free to leave a Reply

