Hey everyone, normally I do Marketing Mondays on Mondays, but I have a release tour thing scheduled for Monday, so here it is:

As you all have seen by this week’s posts, #DangerousTemptation got within spitting distance of making the Amazon top 100’s lists. {Anything ranked 10,000 or less usually makes the top 100’s lists.}

It dropped to 16,000 before it rapidly climbed from lack of sales {which I discovered the overall sales rank raises between 3,000-5,000 every hour of no sales till it’s at the bottom of the list.

Doesn’t that bite?

After I got over the initial disappointment and frustration of getting so close, only to miss, I decided getting that close with my debut novel, yet alone within three months of it’s release, is plain awesome!

I never expected to achieve such a feat. So, I can’t complain. Instead, I consider this a small success and will use this event to improve my marketing strategy.

What have I learned?

·         Twitter is my strongest social media marketing tool.

 ·        UK link is my quickest chance at best seller.

·         My blurb works.

·         I have a fabulous support team in all my contacts I’ve made. Seriously you all rock! I’m not the only one who wants to see me succeed as a writer.

       ·         Don’t get discouraged. All good things come with time.

free-picture-018

How can I use this event to change my marketing strategy?

·         Focus on Twitter. That’s where I’ve had the best results.

I compared July’s sales to May’s. Which revealed promoting my book on Twitter once a day {instead of once a week} works for me.  

So, if I schedule my tweets for the month at the beginning of the month, I can then log in one hour a day and one hour an evening to participate. Which will allow me to better manage my time on social medias.

·       Promo both the USA and the UK links.

·         Buffer is something I need to check into.

Hootsuite is great, but so time consuming. Unless you pay for the pro option, you must schedule each individual tweet one at a time.

·         FaceBook works for me, but not as well as Twitter.

I’ll stick to sharing WIP updates, book info, family stuff and attending release parties on FaceBook. But, advertising there doesn’t make a huge difference for me.

Again this allows me to better manage my time spent on social medias, which frees up more time for family stuff and lets me focus more on my writing.

Remember each social media works different for each person. Keep trying till you find what works best for you and only try a few at a time.

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

3 responses »

  1. Melissa Keir says:

    Congrats on your accomplishment. It is a wondrous one, especially for a debut novel. The next one will do it!

  2. […] Barton presents Small Success. posted at Kitty’s Inner Thoughts, saying, “Every success counts, even the small ones. Here is […]

Feel free to leave a Reply

