Hello everyone. I know I’ve been quiet lately. Been doing some serious heavy thinking and writing. I’m always writing or editing something.

Okay. Straight to the point. I’ve got some changes in mind and I’d love to get your opinions on them.

You all have seen the old cover art for my first novel Dangerous Temptations. For those of you who are knew and haven’t seen it yet. Here it is.

Dangerous Temptation Cover

This cover was created for me by my beloved husband. It’s completely 3D graphics  so the shading isn’t as pronounced.

I love the mysterious feeling and the aura of the tiger appearing out of the steam. Those two elements really speak to me and have spoken to several of the people I’ve asked about it.

I also adore that we get a hint of the FMC here by the fact she has a knife strapped to her thigh and a camera in her hand, rather than a gun.

Along with that cover above I will add the blurb I posted with it.

Old Blurb:

Seventeen year-old orphan Kaitlin Sinclair’s world gets turned upside down when she’s forced to move half way around the world to Indonesia with her uncle she never knew existed. Things get worse when the demons she left behind in America follow her to the land of intrigue.

Her uncle forces her to attend a celebration where she meets Cadmon Quinn, a mysterious, captivating stranger, who reveals that he knew her parents. She uncovers secrets that in the wrong hands could destroy his endangered clan of were-tigers.

When Kaitlin dives into a foreign culture, full of mystique and dangers everywhere she turns, keeping her heart safe might prove as impossible as staying alive!

I thought it was catchy, but something was still missing. Any thoughts on what is missing here?

Anybody?

After attending yet another fabulous writing, marketing and promoting conference, it dawned on me why something felt so off about the blurb above.

1.} Little to no emotion.

2.} No hints as to what obstacles the characters face aside from the blah normal things.

So I put my thinking cap on and came up with an alternative that kept the main essence of what I tried to convey with the blurb above, but far more punchy.

First, allow me to share a new cover art for the same book. I’d love your opinions on this one too. Please don’t be shy. After all I’m here for my readers and their feedback is vital if I’m to become a successful author.

Catrina-Barton-Dangerous-Temptations200x300

This beautiful cover was recently made for me and is courtesy of The Authors Secret.

Thanks again.

I adore the font shape here and it works well with the upper background, but not so well with the shirt.

Same gist, girl with dark hair and a white tiger in the rain forest. Still has my name, title, and sub title of the book.

So, what do you think? Come on now, don’t be shy. Remember feedback is important.

Okay, I’ve kept you waiting long enough.

Here is the new blurb I’ve come up with.

New Blurb:

Seventeen year old Kaitlin Sinclair’s world crashes when her father, deployed overseas, dies. Forced to move to Indonesia, she resides with an uncle she never knew existed.

Enter Cadmon Quinn, the newly appointed leader of the Caspians, a clan of tiger Shifters. Haunted by his inability to stop his twin sister’s murder, he fears he will fail his clan when they need him the most.

Their lives are irrevocably entwined during an adventure in the rainforest full of mystique and danger. When Kaitlin uncovers her parents’ secrets and confronts her private demons, they soon realize that keeping their hearts safe could prove as impossible as staying alive!

The blurb above contains more elements. Most notably more tension. But, it also includes a bit of what both characters struggle with. It’s a bit more revealing than I’d like, but it doesn’t give away all of the surprises and none of the biggest ones.

Still a WIP, but I think it’s far more catchy than the first blurb. What do you all think? Is the second one too revealing?

Which blurb do you find more catchy? Which parts of which cover art do you like best? Over all which cover art would you go with? Which parts of which blurb do you enjoy most?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

12 responses »

  1. To tell you the truth I like the second cover much much better 🙂 And the 2nd cover blurb is more exciting and makes me want to read the book more 🙂

  2. I also prefer the second cover – it looks more mainstream, although I agree that the first has more mystery. I would say the woman is too happy in the new cover, though. Your blurb is about conflict and tension, and I feel the same woman but looking more brooding would be more effective. Love the new blurb.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello again Amanda. Nice to see you here. 🙂
      Mainstream huh? It’s actually New Adult. Too happy in the second one, yup. The first cover has her more reserved, which is more like Kaitlin.
      Thank you. Not sure if this will be the final blurb. It’s still a WIP, but it shows the tension and outlines the main conflicts each character faces.
      Thanks for taking time to comment. 🙂

      • By mainstream I only meant it fits in with the other covers on Amazon etc (the same reason someone advised me to use a photograph on Dragon Wraiths, when I had something different). It’s difficult reconciling covers you love with genre requirements!

      • kittyb78 says:

        Thanks for clarifying that. 🙂 It does match with others which isn’t always a good thing. There are times where individuality comes in handy. 🙂

  3. J.A. Garland says:

    So, my heart wants to say the first cover because its awesome your husband designed it, but, the second cover looks more ‘professional.’ I do think the woman in the first cover appears harder, whereas the second looks happier, less turmoil. You have a difficult decision to make!

    Hands down, the second blurb rocks, fabulous job!

    J.A. Garland “Where fantasy becomes reality.” Website: http://www.jagarland.blogspot.com Twitter: @j_a_garland Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jagarlandurbanfantasyauthor Sent from my iPad

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Jennifer. Been a while. Happy to see you back. Thanks for taking time to leave a comment.
      I agree the girl on the first cover is more accurate for Kaitlin my protagonist who has a lot of inner turmoil. Tough decisions are what keep things interesting. 🙂
      Thank you. I’m still not 100% satisfied with the second blurb either, so I’ll probably tweak it some more. But, It’s a vast improvement.

  4. jackieweger says:

    I vote for the first cover. It’s wonderful and the reader knows at once we’re in for adventure and mystery. Blurbs are more difficult to construct than the entire book. You asked what we thought–here are my thoughts. Seventeen year old Kaitlin Sinclair’s world collapses when her father dies. Forced against her will?by circumstances? to live with uncle she never knew existed in a foreign land (right here you need a teaser–what puts Kaitlin in Quinn’s path?). In the blurb we don’t need to know where her Dad died. Kaitlin (uncovers) discovers family (parents’) secrets (and confronts her private demons). Do the demons rear their ugly heads because of secrets revealed? Or have the demons always plagued Kaitlin? Are the demons really private? Will Cadmon learn about the demons?

    Haunted by his inability to stop his twin sister’s murder, Quinn fears he will fail his Shifter clan when they need him the most. How does this connect Cadmon to Kaitlin?
    (Their lives)– Write instead: Kaitlin and Cadmon.
    The blurb needs to contain an element that tells the reader what draws the protagonists together. In the blurb you tell the reader there is mystery, adventure and danger. You are not revealing too much if you mention the enemy/danger. The story is how the protagonists fall in love, survive and outwit the enemy.
    United/Together Cadmon and Kaitlin must survive (what? The jungle? The demons? Cadmon’s sister’s killer (s)?). This kind of blurb needs to end with a question so that the reader will buy the book to find out the answer. You don’t need to mention Indonesia in the blurb. Introducing Cadmon to the reader with: ‘Enter’ is sort of like a stage direction–but how is he entering Catlin’s life? The story unfolds from that meeting.
    Collapse is a more imaginative word than crash. Crash is like a dead end. Collapse suggests Catlin’s universe folds in upon itself–which is what it does. I would not use an exclamation point in a blurb unless it was in dialogue. These are my suggestions/thoughts. They may or not be of any help. Good luck with the book.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hi Jackie. Thanks for taking time to leave a comment. You’ve given me a lot to think about with the blurb. I’ll take all feedback into consideration as I revise the blurb. 🙂

      • jackieweger says:

        I’m not really clever at blurbs–but just visited a blurb doctor! Lol. I’ve been practicing trying to write 15 and 25 word blurbs. It’s far more difficult than writing the entire novel! Good luck.
        Jackie Weger
        Eye of the Beholder

      • kittyb78 says:

        Thanks Jackie. It is difficult. That sounds more like a log line and those are difficult too. 🙂

Feel free to leave a Reply

