My family and I spent Christmas watching family friendly movies on Netflix. One stands out above all else I’ve ever seen. It’s called The Heart Of Christmas, and is based on a true story that happened three short years ago. It drives home how precious a gift every moment with your children is, and the importance of living every day like it could be the last. It also reminds you why keeping your faith, and being there for other in their time of need is so important.

My hubby doesn’t normally cry during a movie and he was in tears. Our children made many comments afterward that proves they are big hearted people and made us realize despite our struggles they are growing up to be caring Christians, which started me bawling all over again.

Watching this movie together is IMHO the best Christmas gift my family received this year. It’s reminded us of many things we’d forgotten. Seeing the community pull together the way they did was a miracle. Way too often we get so caught up in our daily lives we forget what truly matters. This movie will remind you of that.

424096_1886430177132_1732751925_886321_2119004928_n

My heart breaks anew for our brothers and sisters in CN who received such tragic news earlier this month.

I pray daily that our communities will pull together and be there for them in this darkest time of their  lives. There are no words to describe the horror they’ve experienced.  Those parents had five to seven wonderful years with their angels.

I feel this movie will help ease their grief even a tiny bit, because that is triple what the family in this movie had with their son, and eighteen months of that was spent in hospitals. If you only watch one movie this year, I suggest The Heart Of Christmas. It’ll change your life forever.

I try so hard to be a good Christian, and the shoulder others can lean on. Every day is a struggle to open up to others, despite how many times it’s gotten me kicked in the teeth. I don’t usually cry, not anymore. Did too much of that growing up.  I’m what most people consider un-emotional. Truth is I became a master at hiding them most of the time.

The only things I show true passion for are protecting my family, and writing.

I believe this brave little boy, Dax, and his family’s story is meant to remind us how fragile life is, and to treasure every moment we have with out loved ones. Despite the daily stress, our deadlines, ect, we should always keep in mind how precious a gift our bonds are.

Family13

Above is the final picture I took with my grandfather, before he passed away. It’s one of my most treasured pictures. That he died just before Thanksgiving makes it hard to feel joyful during the holidays. Growing up he was the only person who I really connected with. he understood me, and always made me smile. I love and miss him dearly. But, he had a long, happy life, full of love and joy.

When I need to remember why I need to stay positive, I look at this picture and remember he was my rock that grounded me during turbulent times. My life line. He wouldn’t want us to be sad, he’d want us to remember the happy times. So, that’s what I try to do.

Despite the hardships we face daily, I’m blessed in so many ways. I have a hubby who treasures, and respects me, despite my many flaws. Two strong healthy children, who, despite being a major pain at times, are my world. I can’t even begin to imagine life without them. I have a strong network of friends who support my writing endeavors, and encourage me when I’m feeling low. I still have two grandparents left, despite being in my mid 30’s.

Best of all, we have a savior who died on the cross to forgive all of us for our sins. That’s unconditional love.

This movie is also about unconditional love, keeping faith strong, and cherishing whatever time we have with our loved ones. It embodies the heart of Christmas and is aptly titled.

Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year everyone.  Make every minute count with your loved ones and be grateful for what you do have.

Have you ever watched a movie that touched you and changed your life? Which movie was it? What did it change for you?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

Feel free to leave a Reply

