Hello everyone. I’m late getting this out, sorry. It’s been a long, weird day. I need to adress a few things before this week’s writing tip.

First, I’m waiting to verify my win but I hit 55K for Nano novel last night. Hit 50K on the 11th. I’m two chapters away from completing the novel. Because of that I decided to celebrate by updating one of my fanfics last night.

Second, writing today has been a task. I’ve managed an entire paragraph on my Nano novel. My mind is scattered from everything going on. My right knee has been swollen for the past three days. I never fell or anything, so it makes no sense. All I can think of is that I must have twisted it during the slipping and sliding when we gathered wood on Saturday. It took until Monday to show up though.

Add to that chasing the kids who love to wrestle inside and out, collecting wood, cooking, cleaning, holiday stress, and my youngster’s birthday is near the end of this month. So yeah, busy day.

Third, it’s time to announce my Autumn’s Harvest Hop winner, who will receive a free PDF of my five chapter preview for Dangerous Temptation.

Congratulations Christine Jensen, I’ll email you as soon as I’ve made this post.

Now, back on track. This week I’d like to discuss those times when we just don’t feel like writing. Let’s face it. There are times when we flat out don’t feel like writing. It’s inevitable.

My suggestion is to take a day off, get outside with your family and recharge your batteries. Don’t try to force the writing, it’ll show in the quality of your writing.

Even if you’re in the middle, or near the end of a project {like with my Nano novel.} Forcing yourself to write when you don’t want to, won’t do you any, or the book, any favors. It’ll only make your frustrations mount.
Go read a book, play outside with the kids, or go on a date night with your spouse. Just get away from writing for the day.

What are some of your tips for dealing with those ‘Ugh, I have to write today?’ moments?
For those of you doing Nano this year, how is it coming along? Have you ever tried to force yourself to write when you didn’t want to? How did it work out for you?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

2 responses »

  1. Congratulations, I am incredibly impressed that you finished NaNo already! I thought I was doing well to hit just over 25,000 words yesterday! Hope your knee improves soon.

    I agree with your suggestion when the writing inspiration wanes. I always opt for a walk in the fresh air, and some playtime with my daughter and dog to clear my mind. Failing that, a good house clean can work wonders to bring out some inspiration while you are doing the chores…

Feel free to leave a Reply

