Hello everyone. Marketing Mondays will return next week. Today is a special day.

It’s the day where the entire country {for those of us who live in the USA} says thank you to the countless Veteran’s who have defended our country and fought for our freedom. Many of these brave men and women have died defending our country and it’s founding principles.

To honor all of them, deceased and living alike, I’ve taken the liberty of creating this post.

My grandfather on Daddy’s side was an Army Medic in WWII. We lost him to cancer just before Thanksgiving in 2010. He didn’t talk about his service much, at least not to his grand kids. Instead, he worked on his flower gardens, or his horse ranch. He loved to be outside and always made us smile or laugh.

Here is the last picture I took with him back in 2004. Granpa Jessie is on the one side, I’m in the middle, and Gramma Omi is on the other side. It was taken at their home many years before he was diagnosed with throat cancer. My hair was cut short for the summer. I’ve never cut it that short again, lol.  This is the picture I look at whenever I start missing him again. He and I were closer than any of my other grandparents, except for Omi. I spent many weekends at their house when I was growing up.

My father wanted so badly to fight in a war, but when he was active duty Marine there were no wars. he was honorably discharged due to health issues when I was six, but has remained active as a Texas National Guard. Last year he made the rank of Gunny Sergeant, and I’m so proud of him. He’s still with us today.


My granpa on Mama’s side was in the Airforce in WWII. I only have one picture of him. He’s currently still with us, but his wife passed away from cancer in early December 2007. I didn’t see them near as much. In 2004 was the last time I saw them, but granpa and I have spoken on the phone a lot since then.

  

As I get older, it seems like everyone is passing away.  I’m grateful for the time I’ve had with each of them and the few pictures I have of them. Unfortunately I have no pictures of my great grandparents.

Yesterday at Walmart my husband and I were asked we had any Veterans in the family we wanted to honor and we filled out the little slips for various family Veterans. I thought it was a sweet gesture.

As many of you know one of my closest friends is currently an active duty Marine in Iraq. He’s scheduled to come home in the next few months, but for the past year he’s been fighting to keep our people free and to free others. His bravery and that of every soldier is inspiring. That they willingly go out there to fight for our freedom and make such sacrifices for our country, isn’t only courageous, it’s heart warming. Talk about strong loyalty!

I currently have many cousins in both Iraq and Afghanistan. As you can see, military service runs deep in my family, but I opted not to go. Instead I’m a writer. That’s where my passion lies. Because I write, doesn’t mean I don’t respect of soldiers. I admire their courage, their strength and their willingness to make such sacrifices.

So, don’t let Veteran’s Day go by without paying tribute to the brave men and women who have fought for us. Without their sacrifices we wouldn’t be a free country.

Do you have any friends and family in the military, or who have fought for our country? Who would you like to honor today?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

Feel free to leave a Reply

