Hello everyone. Taking a week off writing was so hard! But, I’m back and ready to hit the grindstone again. Today we’re discussing the power of One Liners.

In the movie Avengers, each character delivers at least one potent one line sentence. Some of my favorites are:

“Ant, boot.” -Nick Fury as he explains to Loki about the glass cage they locked him in.

“Let me know if real power wants a magazine or something.” – Nick Fury to Loki as Nick leaves the room.

“Puny god.” -Hulk to Loki after he threw him around like a rag doll.

“Listen well brother.” -Thor to Loki.

“I’m listening.” -Loki to Thor after Iron Man knocks Thor away from Loki.

“Do not touch me again.” -Thor to Iron Man after Iron Man knocked him away from Loki.

“Then don’t take my stuff.” Iron Man to Thor.

“You want me to put the hammer down?” -Thor to Captain America, just before Thor hits the shield and is knocked back.

“I was having 12% of a moment.” Pepper Potts to Tony Stark.

“There is only one God, ma’am, and I’m pretty sure he doesn’t dress like that.”- Captain America to Black Widow on the plane.

“I’m sorry, what were you lying?” -Tony Stark to Nick Fury when they discovered the tassaract was being used to build weapons.

“Given what’s about to happen, I think we could use a little old fashion.” -Agent Phil to Captain America, when Captain talked about the stars and stripes being old fashioned.

“Hulk… smash.” -Captain America to Hulk during the final battle.

All of the above One Liners had a huge impact on each of those moments in the movie. You felt the tension, humor, ect each line meant to convey. They characterized each moment, and the individual who spoke them.  I’m sure each had an impact on the movie sales.

Another shining example is Damon Salvatore of The Vampire Diaries. He’s like the king of One Liners. Each, usually a sarcastic jab at someone. Each jab impacts that particular moment, and deepens his characterization. Even the woman he loves is not immune from receiving his One Liners.

So, what could a potent One Liner do for book sales?  The same thing. They are meant to add punch to a given moment, characterize your characters, and add a special ingredient to the over all plot.

What are some of your favorite One Liners? How do you think One Liners add to the overall effect?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

15 responses »

  1. Gerri Bowen says:

    I like Rhett Butler’s last line in Gone With The Wind. The very best, IMO. But unless you’ve read what comes before, it has no impact. So he doesn’t care, what’s the big deal?. Just hearing that line in my mind causes me to remember all that had taken place that put him in the moment where he just doesn’t care anymore. And tells her so.

  2. You missed my favorite line from Avengers, when Black Widow said, ” I-I don’t see how that’s a party.” She said that in response to Iron Man when he was luring the leviathan toward the group.

    And I agree, the lines from Avengers were especially good. I don’t think I had any groaning moments.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello. Thanks for taking time to leave a comment/ Great line! I missed a lot of them. I was very impressed with the movie. 🙂 Feel free to return any time. 🙂

  3. Hola!
    I just found your internet site: Marketing Mondays when I was searching stumbleupon.
    com. It looks as though someone enjoyed your blog so much
    they decided to bookmark it – good job!

  4. I often thought commenting was stupid, but for this blog i shall give it a go.
    Im loving it!

  5. get rid of nail fungus says:

    =Hi!
    I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues
    with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

    • kittyb78 says:

      Unfortunately that is a problem we all face eventually. There are some tips in the wordpress FAQs on how to avoid this, but it’s never a guarantee, unless you own your own server and firewalls.

  6. sexdate says:

    Hi there you have a fantastic blog over here! Thanks for posting this interesting information for us! If you keep up this good work I’ll visit your website again. Thanks!

  7. Great article, just what I needed.

  8. Thanks in support of sharing such a pleasant idea,
    piece of writing is pleasant, thats why i have read it fully

  9. Marjorie says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you have done a great job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Opera. Excellent Blog!

Feel free to leave a Reply

