Hi everyone. Last week we discussed writer’s conferences.  This week I’ll share some of my experiences in the Muse Online Writing Conference I’m attending.

I’ve never been to a writer’s conference before. I’ve been to MFRW’s Bootcamp, but it wasn’t actual chatrooms and stuff. I’m told by everyone i talk to at the MOWC it’s one of a kind. So, I’m curious to find out how an online writer’s conference compares to a face to face writer’s conference.

Here is what I’ve learned through experience so far:

First, we have 46 forum workshops. That is a lot of learning potential. Most go all week. Some are one day only.  So, you have to keep on top of the one day times. The week long forums we have access to 24/7 all week, thankfully.

Not only am I attending the conference, I’m helping to moderate it. Mainly the chat classes. We host roughly 5 to 7 chat classes per day.  Several other rooms have pitch sessions periodically that have been signed up for in advance.

By the end of each night I’m so tired. Who knew moderating chats on a daily basis could be so exhausting?

But, I’m having a blast! I’ve learned so much already, and it’s only been a couple days. The forum workshops are very thorough and can be a real challenge.  Especially the writing challenges each instructor assigns the participants.

However, they are well worth it!  I’ve learned that my undercover agent manuscript is portrayed fairly accurately according to an ex covert agent. So, that really made my day. I’ve also asked some point blank questions and received top notch answers that will help improve the realistic portrayals.

Outside of classes I’ve met so many interesting, fun loving writers, editors, and publishers. The feedback from them has been very useful.  My fellow mods, are awesome people, who can be serious when needed, and love to have fun when not in class.

The chats are very well managed, and professionally handled. We always have a lead mod, and a back up mod per chat class. The other mods usually sit in as students. Only the lead mod, and the presenter change font colors. Everyone else has black.

Even though we Mods work hard, we have time to take the classes we’re interested in. Sometimes the chat classes clash with our mod duties, so thank goodness for chat transcripts.

I don’t know how the others do it, but after the last chat class of the evening, I go through the forums and play catch up on my assignments, read the new info, ect.

Not all of the forum workshops have handouts, so you need to participate if you plan to learn anything , or get any feedback on your writing.

A lot of us use scenes from our current WIPs and tweak them to meet the specific assignment requirements. Some need tweaked, some don’t. Each of us are at different levels in our writing, and we each are there for different reasons, even if it is the same class, or workshop. I learn so much every day that each night I go to bed with my mind full of new info and let the lessons sink in.

One of the classes all the Mods adore is Poetry {which happens to be one of my weakest places in writing} I’ve attended one class of that and have come away with a new respect for it. I may even try my hand at  another poem soon. I’ve only written two in my entire life.

If you ever get the chance to attend an online writer’s con, do it! You’ll learn so much and have a ton of fun in the process.

Have you ever attended an online writer’s con? How do you think they differ from the real life writer cons? Ever meet anyone interesting at a writer’s con?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

8 responses »

  1. She Started It says:

    I’m intrigued. I’ve never tried an online conference. There are so many great local conferences for me here, but online conferences sound like an interesting concept. However, I think the extrovert in me needs to get out of the house– so I think the in-person conferences give me that extra outlet I need!

    • KittyB78 says:

      Hello. I’m happy in the house, or out of it. 🙂

      The closest local writer’s con for me is held almost two hours away, and only once a year.

      You brought up an interesting point. 🙂 Thanks for taking time to comment. Feel free to return any time. 🙂

  2. Emma says:

    Do any online conferences use Skype?

  3. seo services says:

    You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I’d by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and very wide for me. I am looking forward on your next submit, I will try to get the hold of it!

  4. gratissex says:

    I like this blog very much. I’m a follower of your weblog and wanna say thanks for all this interesting stuff on it. Please take a look at my website also??? Thanks!

Feel free to leave a Reply

