Yay! It’s Wednesday, which means time for another writer tip.  This week we’re discussing writer’s conferences.

I’m attending the 2012 Muse Online Writer’s Conference from Oct 8-14th. This will be  my first actual conference. I’m excited about most of the classes. Some will come in handy for shaping up several manuscripts I’ve already written, and one or two for finishing up my current novel. Just in time for NanoWriMo2012 next month.Unfortunately registration has closed for this writer’s conference. I found out about it and got in at the very last day.

As you can guess, I’m an active participant in many groups, which is key to getting yourself taken seriously as an author. This conference has so many wonderful classes that clash with other class schedules that I had a hard time narrowing down which ones I will attend. Several of these classes will run the entire week. So organization and scheduling is key to the ones I will attend.

How To Write A story, Not Just 50K In 30 Days, by Jean Viola Ryan, in particular I feel will make winning NanoWriMo 2012 a breeze.

Creating The Paranormal or Alien Character with Christine Ashworth, will be a refresher course to help ensure my current series of novels I’m working on is up to snuff.

Creating Your Fantasy World with Mary Ann Kirk, is another refresher course to help ensure my world-building aspects are on target for my current series.

True Lies with D.S. Kane, Writing Covert Training and Missions into Fiction, I’m taking to ensure one of my already half written manuscripts is realistically portrayed.

The following classes are refresher courses to further improve my writing skills:

Fine Tuning The Sense with Jane Bernard.

Making Writing Snap, with Publisher Vivian from 4RV Publishing.

Frankly My Dear, I Don’t Give A Damn: The Power Of Writing Dialogue with Ginger Hanson.

The Tension In Your Novel with Cindi Madsen.

Write The Fight, with Courtney Farell.

Made To Order: The Perfect Recipe For Characters Your Readers Will Eat Up, with Jean Murray.

The last two are simply because they sound like fun. Who knows what useful tips I’ll pick up from them for future novel ideas?

Mythology & Fairytales As A Basis For New Stories , with Sasha Summers.

King Aurthur – Fact Vs Fiction, with Suzanne Shanken

Side note: There are tons of other classes too, such as how to snag an agent in 500 words or less. Others cover stuff like making research {for your stories} more fun and less of a chore, ect.

Each class I chose will either further improve my writing skills, or help me improve some previously finished manuscripts. Only two are for fun. Like all writers, I value my time and like to spend my writing time learning to hone my writing skills, improving my novels, or new writing novels that my readers can enjoy.

Structured schedules are important to my writing career, and to my family. Balancing both full time is a job itself. Writing daily is as necessary to me as breathing. If I don’t write I get depressed and grouchy. Spending time with my family is just as important to me. So together we work it out so everyone is happy.

Have you ever been to a writer’s conference? What was your experience like? Was the schedule a bit hectic? How did you narrow down which classes to attend, and which to skip? What was your most memorable moment at a writer’s conference? Did you meet any interesting people there?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

8 responses »

  1. How exciting! Enjoy the conference.

  2. This sounds interesting, how did you find it and how do you attend? I would love to attend a writers’ conference, but so far I haven’t found any that fit into my schedule… Those last two sound really fun!

    • KittyB78 says:

      I found out through a member of one of my writing groups. I’d have mentioned it here, but found out last minute. You have to either search for online conferences, or try to make one face to face.

  3. Emma says:

    Sounds like it’s going to be great. I must look around for conferences in my area.

Feel free to leave a Reply

