Okay, I’ve been saving this announcement for the right moment {and letting the shock wear off.}

During the #MFRW marketing seminar I attended a while back, I won a wonderful prize!

I’m going to be interviewed on The BestPeopleWeKnowRadioShow Aug 27th as 10 am, and will be disusing:

Kayelle, and Karen, both from MFRW will be there, and our wonderful host Deb Scott. So, at least I won’t be there alone.Β  As a child I got stage freight, and this radio show is broadcast world live, so my nerves have kicked in.

I keep telling myself deep breaths, but it doesn’t stop the shaking inside, lol. In Kung-Fu classes, and during the tournaments I never had the slightest bit of nerves, nor with the choir performances from Mid School, and High School.

Why am I so nervous now? Because it’s such a huge opportunity! It’s likely a once-in-a-lifetime chance to really get my book out there, and make myself known as an author in a big way. It’s a huge step in marketing, and I’m honored to receive this wonderful unexpected opportunity.

After a lot of serious consideration, I’ve decided to promote this the best I can, and just let it happen.

Would you be nervous? Have you ever been on a radio show before? If so, how did you handle it? What are some of the ways you calm your nerves?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

33 responses »

  1. I’ve done radio three times now. It’s fun. Enjoy! And congrats!

    • kittyb78 says:

      Thank you Kelly. I’ve learned this show has an over 75,000 people following. So the nerves have kicked in big time!
      Thanks for taking time to leave a comment. Feel free to return any time. πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats, well done and good luck, I hope this will be the first of many for you.

  3. Crypto Tiger says:

    w00t w000000!!!!!!

    Way to go!

  4. That’s exciting news! I look forward to hearing about your radio interview.

  5. Congratulations, Catrina! Don’t be nervous – just be yourself.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Cindy, thanks so much. I think the nerves are finally settling. I’ve talked to my writing groups and asked their advise {the ones who’ve done radio shows} They gave me some great advise: “Write it down!” So, that what I’ve done. πŸ™‚

  6. Catrina, how about you look at it this way? There may be 75,000 people listening, but they can’t see you nor can you see them. Focus on the one person who is speaking to you at the moment. Never mind anybody else. It is you and that person only. As already suggested about notes, keep them in front of you to help you keep on track, but talk naturally as you would if you were sitting in your living room chatting with friends. And enjoy it.
    All the best to you. πŸ™‚

    • kittyb78 says:

      Lynn, I didn’t think about it like that. Thanks so much. Your wonderful advise has calmed my nerves a little. Feel free to drop y anytime and thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚

  7. Emma says:

    Congrats. I know you’re nervous but it’s a great opportunity.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Emma, nice to see you again. It is a huge opportunity and I’m so grateful to have it. In fact, I keep pinching myself to be sure it’s for real. πŸ˜„

  8. Ooh how exciting! I did a show last month, and it was just like having a conversation really, so don’t be too nervous. Take a bottle of water so your throat doesn’t dry out, and you’ll be fine! xxx

    • kittyb78 says:

      Welcome back.
      Thanks! I have everything I want to say written down and revised to cut out most repetitions.
      I always keep a glass of water next to me and as soon as it’s emptied, I refill it. πŸ™‚

  9. My Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 91335 more Infos: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

  10. Well I sincerely enjoyed reading it. This post provided by you is very practical for proper planning.

  11. You will do great! I can’t wait to hear your interview. Fingers crossed, I will be listening πŸ™‚

  12. I’ll be with you, and you’ll do fine. This is just like martial arts. You set your mind to it, picture it, practice it, and follow through. Once you’re finished you’ll be ready to go again. This will be great! And think of the fun stories you can tell afterward.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Kayelle. Thanks. I’m actually looking forward to it. My nerves have calmed considerably since this posy. But, it’s still a big event for me, so the nerves won’t completely calm down. Beautiful analogy. Thanks for commenting, the post fave, and following my blog. Feel free to return any time. πŸ™‚

  13. Karen Cote says:

    Oh honey, don’t be nervous. It’s only SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND PEOPLE!! *snicker* Actually, I’m glad you’re in the hot seat this time. Not to fear though, Kayelle saved my butt last time and she’ll save yours. Not me though. Remember summer camp? Yep – I’m bringing the water pistol so I can antagonize you. LOL – you’ll do fabulous my friend. So excited for you and Deb will make you feel so comfortable…you’ll entertain the masses with that adorable attitude of yours.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hi Karen! Thanks for taking time to comment.
      That’s exactly my point {and a big part of my nerves.} All those people…
      But, yeah, I’m super excited! Been promoting since this post went up. Water pistols are fun! You ladies are so gracious, and kind. Joining #MFRW is one of the best decisions I’ve made for my writing, hands down. I’m happy to have met so many talented and kind people. The way we all support and encourage each other is wonderful and helps everyone feel right at home. Thanks so much for your kind words. Feel free to return any time. πŸ™‚

  14. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

  15. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

  16. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

  17. coupons says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

  18. … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 74996 more Infos: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

  19. click here says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

  20. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

  21. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/exciting-news/ […]…

Feel free to leave a Reply

