Hello readers. Today we’re visited by a special guest, Lynn Crain. Take it away Lynn and thanks for visiting with us today!

When Readers Comment:

This past year, I’ve been a scattered blogger. I blog more for others than I do at my own blogs and the reasons are many. I’ll try to go through a few of the things a writer goes through when trying to figure out the best way, and least annoying, to promote themselves.

First, I am always worried that I will overdo it. You’ve all seen them…the person who puts out one hundred or more bits of information on Facebook, Twitter, their blogs or yahoogroups. Those people you will remember but not for the reason they want. You, as a reader, will remember them as being an in-your-face writer. We writers don’t really want to do that but sometimes our enthusiasm overshadows our common sense and we go for the gusto. This is not the way to get new fans of our books. This is a way to turn people off so they will never read our books.

Second, I’m always afraid that people won’t stop by and see what I have to say. There is nothing worse for a writer than to write out their heart only to find that no one even looked at the words you slaved over. Frankly, it’s one of the reasons that I quit blogging every day. I felt I had saturated the market with my words of wisdom and needed to take a break. As that break slid into nearly two years because of a move to Europe, I find that I again want to yap to the world and let them know about my writing.

One of the things I decided during that two year hiatus was I would be doing things differently. I wanted to do things for other writers as well as myself. Don’t get me wrong, I had always had guests on my blog. I even had theme days just for them but I wanted something that was quick and easy. I wanted to start something that readers and writers would both love, coming back every day to see what new things were posted. With this in mind, I came up with The Log Line Blog (www.theloglineblog.blogspot.com), which is a blog for the log line/tag line of your book. That’s the twenty-five word sentence that sums up the whole of your book. Some call it the elevator pitch but it’s still the same thing: the sentence that sells your book to editors and readers. It needs to be short, simple, concise and inviting. It needs to hook and engage the reader. And The Log Line Blog highlights those authors every day. I look forward to adding a couple more blogs to this project in the near future.

Another thing I decided to do, I decided to give back to my fellow writer in other ways. I now belong to the group, Marketing for Romance Writers, where I work on the blog and help give classes free of charge. This too is part of my pay-it-forward plan and I love doing this. I love answering questions, helping people with their marketing needs when I can. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not the guru of everything but a guru of a few things. I really don’t mind helping others with those items. The group is full of like-minded individuals, all of whom try to help their fellow authors every day.

Enough about the authors already…what about you, the reader? I mean after all authors are readers. Many authors start writing because they had run out of reading material or they knew they could write something better. When I write a book, I try to bring something to life that a reader would enjoy. I take reader comments seriously and try to answer each and every person who comments on a blog, sends me an email, talks to me on Facebook or Twitter. The only reason I wouldn’t is if you’re a weird stalker fan from Africa…yeah…I have a few of those too. But if you’re a reader with questions about my books and my life, as long as it’s not too intrusive, I will answer you back.

I know your time is as valuable as mine. And because I value time, I try to make the information I give as interesting as possible in hopes you’ll read this blog or any blog I do daily. Writing something other than a novel or short story gives me a break from thinking about plotting or proper verb form. It gives me the freedom to express myself in a very different way…directly to the readers…a fact I love.

Because of this, I love reading your comments. You inspire me to be better, to write more and to be as good as I can be with my stories. You also give me new ideas and take me down paths I might never have gone if you didn’t write your comment. I could not do this without readers and I would be fooling myself to say I could.        So I thank each of you from the bottom of my heart. I appreciate and value each one of you as a reader and a person. Keep up the good work.

It’s summer here in Vienna, Austria and the rains have come. I just got back from walking the dog and am dripping wet. I so understand why people have said that Europe’s weather is a fickle lady. One day it’s hot, the next cold and rainy…and this is in the summer season…LOL!

Right now, I am sitting in front of what I call my love desk, typing away. I have a whole blog devoted to this desk on my Writer in Vienna blog (www.awriterinvienna.blogspot.com). It is a desk covered with the word love in many different languages. It’s my pride and job because when I first got here, I didn’t know when I’d be able to write. It took almost a year to get my mojo back but now it’s here with a vengeance and I for one am very happy to hook up again with you readers.

So comment away and one of you will win a copy of my latest book, The Harvester. I so hope you enjoy it and what I’ve said here today!

See you all soon!

Lynn

Check out Lynn’s latest book The Harvester!

Logline: Sky Nerezsh, a Harvester of men, leaves home avoiding a tragic path when a rival comes to claim Earth and the two Scottish lifemates she’s just discovered.

Blurb: Princess Sky Xera Nerezsh came to earth to avoid the normal succession path to the throne. Being the oldest daughter, she will be required to murder her mother in order to secure her path to power. Sky loves her mother and refuses this path, choosing instead to disappear in the vast reaches of space. When her past collides with her present, she has to think quick on her feet, claim two men and a whole planet just to avoid the inevitable: a meeting with her mother. Along the way, she discovers true love and a burning need to be there for them always. Now if the other Harvesters can just keep to themselves, they’ll have no problems. But who said true love was ever easy.

Excerpt: Suddenly one dark haired man was on the table in front of her, gyrating his sexy hips in her face, his package mere inches from her mouth. In another life, she would have leaned forward and planted her lips on his crotch, willing his body to perform. She really should have been paying more attention to the situation around her instead of wondering about where Angela had gotten herself.

Leaning down, his breath reminded her of the sweetgrass that grew on her home planet of Tyrsati, heightening her senses even more. “Sweetheart, I see how you want me…it’s written all over your face.” His voice purred in her ear.

Sky gasped and pulled back to get a better look at the man in front of her. He reminded her of the gods of Vada. He was tall, well-muscled, dark hair brushing the top of his shoulders and had the most incredible violet eyes she had ever seen. Guess the optics weren’t wrong. He would fetch an exquisite price on Texra and her mother would be extremely proud for her acquisition. She shook her head to clear the cobwebs.

“Nice eyes, sweetie – hang around after the show – I’ll make it worth your while.” His voice hit a resonance with her and her whole body flushed. It had been years since she had reacted to any man. Now her emotions and body betrayed her for an insignificant being on an outer planet. She shook her head. This planet was no more insignificant than any other, including her own but she knew if she didn’t get herself under control, the Harvester in her would take over. Old habits die hard.

“Don’t let his demeanor fool you, luvey. He just wants to get into your pants.” Another deep voice reverberated close to her ear.

She glanced over her shoulder and again her breath was nearly taken away as she looked into the bluest eyes she’d ever seen in the galaxy bar none. The sky of Octa couldn’t hold a candle to the color that swirled in their depths.

“Ooo, Jaxon is right about the eyes. Very cool green.”

“Contacts,” Sky managed to get out for the second time this evening, her voice low.

“And a sexy voice to boot. Very nice.” He twirled away to join his companion on stage. He was just as nice looking as the first guy but just a little shorter. His shiny hair swung around his jaw line as he moved and her hands ached to run her fingers through it and over his body.

She sat there stunned as the people at her table laughed and clapped her on the back as if she’d done some sort of fantastic feat. While her time on this planet had been very thrilling, in her old life working for her mother, their performances had to be impeccable or their fate might be worse than death. She vaguely wondered just how she’d rate them.

Sky did her best to smile and act as if what happened was one of the most exciting things in her life when in reality it brought back some memories she’d rather forget. Folding her hands in front of her, she closed her eyes and steadied her breathing. She opened her eyes slow and caught a glimpse of a targeting laser. The light was in a part of the spectrum that no one of this planet could even see but her optics caught it.

Scanning the crowd, she allowed her eyes to whirl, not caring who saw. There were not supposed to be any Harvesters on this world as it had been declared too primitive to even be included in the Alliance of Planets. She came here because she knew this was the one place her mother wouldn’t think to look. Now, she knew another Tyrsatian walked the same world as she did, occupying the very same room.

Maybe it was time to see just what type of trouble Angela got herself into. Leaning across the table, she quickly gave Jayne her phone number and said her goodbyes to all the others present. Rising slowly, she didn’t want to alert the other Harvester but she was just far enough away and at a weird angle to not see who it might be. Moving quickly to the back wall, she moved to where she stood way behind the woman but close enough to see who it was.

Jesata Ardik. Of all the Harvesters to show up on her new home planet, one of the most relentless in the business had to land on her new home. This wasn’t going to be easy. She had to delay her from marking them because once they were marked, it didn’t matter wherever in the universe they were, they would be considered fugitives until captured and sold to the highest bidder. Meaning, she wouldn’t be able to get them off world without the help of her mother.

Buy Links:

Smashwords

Amazon

All Romance eBooks

Barnes & Noble

Lynn Crain has penned over 25 novels in  romance in the genres of science fiction, fantasy and contemporary romance, erotic to tame in nature. She always knew that writing was her calling even if it took years at other professions to prove it. She has belonged to EPIC and RWA for more years that she cares to think about. Currently, she lives in Europe while her husband of nearly 30 years pursues his dream of working internationally. Her state-side home is in Nevada where family and friends wait patiently for their return. You can find her hanging out at A Writer In Vienna Blog (www.awriterinvienna.blogspot.com) and various other places on the net (www.theloglineblog.blogspot.com; www.twitter.com/oddlynn3; www.lynncrain.blogspot.com ). Still, the thing she loves most of all is hearing from her readers at lynncrain@cox.net.

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

48 responses »

  1. kittyb78 says:

    Hello Lynn, thanks again for visiting us today. You brought to light some great points.
    The Log Line sounds like a fun, unique approach to promoting books.
    The Harvester sounds interesting.
    Good luck everyone! 🙂

  2. Aletéia says:

    i really liked the topics you post here. thanks for sharing this information that is so helpful for us. good day.http://www.maladiretasegmentada.com.br

  3. Clementina says:

    the post is actually the freshest on this laudable subject. i harmonize with your conclusions and will look forward to see your approaching updates.http://www.busquemail.com.br

  4. Fanny says:

    thanks for the great post. it reminds me that i have to bring more structure into my blogging. your blog is very interesting. please let me know how to go for your rss blog.http://www.acertemail.com

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hi Fanny, thanks for taking time to leave a comment. We’re happy you found the post useful. Good luck.

    • Lynn Crain says:

      Thanks Franny for stopping by! Appreciate it. Glad you liked the topic. Yeah, readers some days really want structure…it’s amazing…I try to listen to them all the time. After all, we all need readers.

      Google has some great instructions about the RSS feed…I’m really a computer derelict when it comes to those things…sorry.

      Lynn

  5. Adiles says:

    you helped me a lot indeed and reading this your article i have found many new and useful information about this subject.http://www.ecadastro.com.br

  6. Cacilda says:

    i always agree and interested about every topics in this blog. really inspiring.http://www.maladiretasegmentada.com.br

  7. URL says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/guest-post-by-lynn-crain-2/ […]…

  8. Lynn Crain says:

    Hi everyone!

    I’m back with the winner of a copy of my eBook, The Harvester…drumroll please…Celine you are my winner. Yeah!

    Just email me at oddlynn3@gmail.com and I’ll be sending it to you right away!

    Thanks everyone for stopping by…I appreciate it…and hope to see you all at my place sometime!

    Lynn

  9. … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/guest-post-by-lynn-crain-2/ […]…

  10. Well written blog. keep going!

  11. Freddie Mac says:

    I really like what you’ve done here! I want a blog of my own… who you hosted with mate?

  12. more help says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/guest-post-by-lynn-crain-2/ […]…

  13. Marian says:

    Very energetic article, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

  14. […]The facts talked about inside the article are a number of the top obtainable […]

  15. Free Music Downloader…

    […]The information and facts talked about in the report are some of the most beneficial readily available […]…

  16. … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/guest-post-by-lynn-crain-2/ […]…

  17. Barry says:

    It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this publish and if I may I want to recommend you few attention-grabbing things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles relating to this article. I want to learn even more things about it!

  18. I simply want to say I am just newbie to weblog and actually liked you’re web-site. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have excellent well written articles. Kudos for sharing your web-site.

  19. jak schudnac says:

    I really like your writing style, good info , thankyou for putting up : D.

  20. … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/guest-post-by-lynn-crain-2/ […]…

  21. Even more says:

    I enjoy you because of your own hard work on this website. Kim delights in engaging in investigation and it really is really obvious why. My spouse and i know all regarding the powerful manner you produce functional ideas through the weblog and attract contribution from some others on that concern then my girl is in fact learning so much. Enjoy the rest of the year. Your performing a first class job.

  22. desson says:

    Hello! My classmate sent me this link because he thought it’s sweet and I have to agree with him. Very sweet post you have here^^

  23. here says:

    here…

    […]here are some links to web pages that we link to for the reason that we think they are worth visiting[…]…

  24. click here says:

    click here…

    […]we came across a cool web page that you simply might get pleasure from. Take a search when you want[…]…

Feel free to leave a Reply

