Hello everyone. Thanks for sticking with me.

A lot is going on right now, online and offline, so I’m not on as often as I normally am. Posts have been sow and maybe a bit tedious Apologies.

 

In August my sister and her family are coming to visit and we’re setting plans in motion for entertainment while they are here. Because money is tight, we’re planning a trip to Elephant Rocks {a huge park all of the kids will enjoy} and a family picnic. Not much, but it will keep both families from being cooped up inside.

I received the paperback proof of my preview in the mail yesterday {three days sooner than expected, so that’s a plus.}

As you can see, a lot of changes need made. This looks like a child’s book and at 7.5×9 it’s the size of one.

I have to reformat the PDF, and the entire book size needs changed. Right now it’s the size of a children’s book. I was going more for the romance novel size. The closest I can get to that is 5×8 which is photograph sized. This will include resizing the cover art, going through the entire resubmission process and all those 48 hour waiting periods again, and ordering a new proof, waiting for it to arrive and all that again. lol, live and learn, right?

Some plumbing problems, animals, ect. I even missed my On Writing Romance seminar today. I probably won’t get another chance like that until at least next year.

I’ve had very little time for writing lately. I’ve read one of my planned books for the month so far because it was just too hot to do anything else. What time I have been online has dealt ironing out hassles with online retailers, catching up on twitter, blogging once a day, critiquing others works, and running a group I was asked to take over for the founder who fell ill.

As you now everyone has lives outside of writing and at times. Remember on top of everything else, I’m a Mama and wife first and foremost. We will get back to the writing advice articles once things settle down a bit. Thanks for your understanding and patience.

Do you ever feel overwhelmed when offline life and online keep you hopping? How do you handle the inevitable stress? How do you juggle family and writing?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

21 responses »

  1. The park sounds fun. Who says you need money to have fun?
    Life is a juggling act. I drop more balls than I care to think about.
    And yes, writing has to fit in with life.
    Great post.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Tracy, thanks for taking time to leave a comment.
      It can be really tough sometimes, but that’s why we writers must have endurance and determination. šŸ™‚
      The park is awesome! It’s filled with huge boulders, trees and hills, that the kids adore playing on and hubby does his Tarzan yell.
      Feel free to drop by again any time. XD

  2. V.Furnas says:

    I don’t get any sleep. I do my writing at night. It is tough and usually means I will have to crash at the end of the week. But I think it is worth it.

    Exciting to see the paper proofs…can’t wait till I am at that stage.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello and thanks for taking time to leave a comment. I rarely sleep. Usually only when I’m either sick with a cold or fever, or if I’ve gone about 3 to 4 days without sleeping.
      It’s exciting to have it available to hold. Will get pictures up sometime before the weekend is over. šŸ™‚ Fell free to drop by anytime.

  3. Yes, it is tough to do. Whenever possible, I try to have a set schedule so I know when I’m writing and when I’m with my family. If you can get on a schedule, people are more likely to honor it and you won’t have to worry as much.

    Good luck!

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hi Kelly, thanks for taking time to leave a comment. šŸ™‚
      I’m about the same, but it’s crash every 3-4 days. XD
      It is worth it, but can get frustrating at times. Feel free to drop by again any time. šŸ™‚

  4. I feel your pain! My husband complains when I sit up late every night on the computer, but if I don’t promote/write my books I won’t fulfill my dreams… We do what we must, and we keep going! Well done

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Catherine, thanks for taking time to leave a comment.
      That we do and we usually sacrifice our sleep to do so. XD
      Feel free to drop by again any time.

  5. Arlete says:

    you’re a great professional for writing it, congrats.http://www.beganegrond.com

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hi Arlete, interesting name. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a response. I’m glad you get something good out of my posts. That’s why I write them. šŸ™‚ Feel free to stop by any time.

  6. I carry on listening to the news broadcast talk about receiving boundless online grant applications so I have been looking around for the top site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i acquire some?

  7. I simply wanted to write down a quick message in order to say thanks to you for all the fabulous steps you are giving on this website. My considerable internet look up has at the end of the day been compensated with incredibly good facts to share with my friends and family. I would point out that most of us website visitors actually are very much lucky to dwell in a really good network with many lovely professionals with valuable things. I feel quite fortunate to have come across your website and look forward to many more thrilling times reading here. Thanks once more for all the details.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Raymundo, thanks for your kind words. You made me smile when I read this.
      I’m always happy to hear some one has found what I have to offer useful.
      I look forward to hearing from you in the future. šŸ™‚

  8. Hello. magnificent job. I did not expect this. This is a excellent story. Thanks!

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello, thanks for taking time to leave a response.
      I’m glad you enjoyed it and hope to offer more useful information to you in the future. šŸ™‚
      Feel free to return any time. šŸ™‚

  9. I just want to tell you that I am just new to blogging and truly liked you’re web-site. Likely Iā€™m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually have beneficial well written articles. Cheers for sharing with us your web site.

Feel free to leave a Reply

