All of my writing groups have a monthly reading list. Here is mine for July:

Hubby just bought me Samurai Game by Christine Feehan. She is one of my favorite authors. I have all but Night Game in the Ghostwalker series. Mom in law has that one somewhere. We both have all but two of the Dark Series also by Feehan, and we have all five of the Leopard Series books by Mrs Feehan. Can you tell mom in law and I adore Christine Feehan’s books? The lady isn’t touted by New York Times as the “Queen of Paranormal Romance” for nothing. She knows exactly what she’s doing. I greatly admire her work.

Another series both mom in law and I adore is the Black Dagger brotherhood by J.R. Ward. Her world building is superb and matches that of Sherilyn Kenyon.

Have you noticed yet that mom in law and I have a lot of similar readingΒ  tastes? To be honest mom in law and I rarely splurge on anything for ourselves. Books are the one thing we do indulge ourselves with. We’re both pretty conservative and hate wasting money when it’s not needed. We have more of a mother/daughter relationship than the typical mom in law/daughter in law one.

Anyways, back on track.

Here is my July reading list:

Samurai Game by Christine Feehan

Self Edition For Fiction Writers by Rennie Brown and Dave King

The Keeping by Nicky Charles

The Finding by Nicky Charles

Bonded by Nicky Charles {I’m trying to find out why people compare her to J. R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood. So far it’s more like Twilight to me because the Law of the Lyacans series is about werewolves, only more adult}

Then in YA Fiction I plan to finish reading:

Intuition by J. Meyers

Vampire Assassin by Samantha Warren

and Vampire hunters Daughter by Jenifer Malone Wright

So, there you have it. My reading list for July. I also owe two reviews on e-books I received last month. Those will come soon. I’ve been so caught up in getter my novel finished, I forgot to take time for myself to read.

Also in July I’m participating in the summer blog hop, and two marketing seminars. Busy month!

What about you? What’s sitting on your e-reader waiting to be read? Do you follow the cardinal rule and read any books in your writing genre each month? Are you part of any blog hops or seminars this month?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

12 responses »

  1. I have not picked out my July reading list yet but I am sure that I will find some good books just waiting to be read πŸ™‚

  2. Fried brains says:

    What comes first the finding or the keeping D: I mean you can’t keep what you don’t find.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hi Shippo, thanks for commenting. XD

      Actually the order is:
      The Mating
      The Keeping {this has to do with one of their most sacred laws for the world building aspects}
      The Finding
      Bonded.

  3. I just finished White Walls by Lauren Hammond. It’s a New Adult title. Now I’m reading My Heart Be Damned by Chanelle Gray. It’s a YA ARC I promised to review. After that I’m not sure which book I’ll tackle. I have so many waiting for me.

  4. Thanks for sharing your reading list. Gulp. Mine is small.
    I’m currently reading Canoe Lake which is not in the genre I write. It’s merely for pleasure. Next on my list is “Mr. Sunny is Funny!” by Dan Gutman. I have an e-reader, but I prefer books. Whenever I turn the e-reader on, the battery is dead.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Tracy, thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment.

      I try to read at least two books a month. One of the genres I like to write and one strictly for pleasure.

      I’m trying to up it to a book a week or maybe two. but I have to keep in mind my writing and other obligations as well. As Much as I’d love to stay lost in books I’m a mother, wife, and author too. πŸ™‚

  5. Issac Maez says:

    I gave you a link back on one of my pr3 pages, I hope this is ok.

  6. Dejanira says:

    you are a great writer, i hope someday i will write as well as you do.http://www.divulgaemail.com

Feel free to leave a Reply

