Hello readers! Today I have a special surprise for you.

Becca Puglisi of TheBookShelfMuse has graciously agreed to join us and share some of her recent experiences with self publishing

.

Thanks for joining us Becca.

How long did your publishing process take from the time you two submitted the files to the day the book launched?

We submitted the first file to iTunes on April 25th and the book launched on May 14th. Due to a few snafus with different distributors, it took the entire 2 1/2 weeks to sort everything out so the book would launch on time at the different sites. Talk about cutting it close, lol.

What were your favorite and least favorite parts of the self-publishing process? 

My least favorite part had to be setting up our business. Angela lives in Canada and I’m in the US, so each step of the process was more complicated than it normally would have been. Nothing happened quickly, and there were certain things on the publishing front that we couldn’t do until the business was established. With the launch date looming closer and closer, I felt a lot of pressure to get everything done so we wouldn’t have to push back our release.

My favorite part, easily, was getting my first proof in the mail. I knew the day it would arrive, and coming home, I nearly drove into the flower bed trying to see the front door. Opening the envelope and seeing that book in my hands with our names on the cover made up for a lot of the rejections I’d gotten over the years.

What is something the readers would be surprised to learn about the self-publishing process?

I think the biggest shocker for me was the sheer amount of decisions that have to be made. Cover art, formatting, where to distribute, price points, what formats to use, ISBNs, how to promote, how to respond to reviews, the seemingly endless revisions. I’m looking right now at the very last page of a notebook that is jam packed with questions and notes made along our self-publishing journey. You have to leave extra room in your schedule because there are constantly new avenues and possibilities and questions coming up that need to be researched and evaluated, both before and after the launch.

What is it like to see The Emotion Thesaurus on the market?

It makes me smile. Some days I pull up Barnes & Noble and just look at our book, sitting there with its little price tag and its Customers Who Bought This Also Bought field. I’m overwhelmed sometimes that we’re actually doing this. I mean, I suck at math–REALLY suck at math–and here I am running a business, something I never thought I was capable of doing. It’s a confidence booster. I can’t wait until my kids are old enough to understand that this is Mama’s book.

Why did you two decide to donate a portion of each purchase to this particular charity?

Angela and I are both very blessed in our professional and personal lives, so using some of our proceeds to bless others was a no-brainer. Heifer International was a natural choice because they don’t just give people a handout; they teach families how to care for and utilize the livestock they receive, with the understanding that the recipients will one day pass on the gift of livestock to another family in need. The results are exponential. We’re so excited to be able to contribute to an organization like this.

Becca Puglisi is one half of The Bookshelf Muse blogging duo, and co-author of The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide to Character Expression. Listing the body language, visceral reactions and thoughts associated with 75 different emotions, this brainstorming guide is a valuable tool for showing, not telling, emotion. The Emotion Thesaurus is available for purchase through Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, and Smashwords, and the PDF can be purchased directly from her blog.

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

18 responses »

  1. I am nodding as I read, lol. And I remember that first moment of holding the proof. For me it came a few weeks later when Becca gave me the proof as our paths crossed in Phoenix Arizona, but yeah, man that was a special thing. It did make everything worthwhile.

    Kitty, thanks so much for hosting Becca! I see you belong to Shewrites. I have heard a lot about the community and keep meaning to check it out. 🙂 Have a great week!

    Angela

  2. Wonderful interview, ladies. I am a big fan of The Bookshelf Muse, finding tons of great advice and inspiration in Becca’s and Angela’s posts. The Emotion Thesaurus is such a fantastic tool for writers, and not only – thank you for creating it.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Angela, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. The Bookshelf Muse is a treasure trove of helpful tips for writers. I got the Emotion Thesaurus the day it came out. I constantly go back to it when I find my emotional descriptions have grown repetitive.

  3. becca puglisi says:

    Thanks for letting me visit your blog, Kitty. We had some bumps along our publishing journey, but it was 100% worthwhile when you get to the other side. And thank you for the kind words, Angela!

  4. Hi Kitty: Thanks for having Becca share her journey on the road to self-publishing. Running a business while trying to write is tough. Can`t wait for the book to arrive. I`m chomping at the bit.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Tracy, thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      I’m always happy to have Becca or Angela drop by and share their experiences with us. 🙂

      The book is a constant source I use and keep nearby at all times while I’m writing. 🙂

    • becca puglisi says:

      Tracy, I hope you find it useful! I actually used it myself last night, which proves its worth to me. But then, I’m biased. It’s always nicer when something else toots your horn for you, lol.

  5. kittyb78 says:

    It’s available at Amazon and Smashwords now. 🙂 Just click the link above that says Emotion Thesaurus. 🙂

  6. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Carson, thanks for taking time to comment. I’m glad you and your group have found some of my posts useful. 🙂 Come back and visit any time.

  7. […] An interview about The Emotion Thesaurus’ Publication Process at Kitty’s Inner Thoughts […]

Feel free to leave a Reply

