A smile. An encouraging word. A thoughtful gesture. Each day people interact with us, help, and make our day a bit brighter and full. This is especially true in the Writing Community.

Take a second to think about writers you know, like the critique partner who works with you to improve your manuscript. The writing friend who listens, supports and keeps you strong when times are tough. The author who generously offers counsel, advice and inspiration when asked.

So many people take the time to make us feel special, don’t they? They comment on our blogs, re-tweet our posts, chat with us on forums and wish us Happy Birthday on Facebook.

Kindness ROCKS!

To commemorate the release of their book The Emotion Thesaurus, Becca and Angela at The Bookshelf Muse are hosting a TITANIC Random Act Of Kindness BLITZ. And because I think KINDNESS is contagious, I’m participating too!

I am offering to critique the first chapter for any of my bloggers who comment below and then send me an email with ROAK and your title as the subject, and the first chapter. 

Do you know someone special that you’d like to randomly acknowledge?

Don’t be shy–come join us and celebrate! Send them an email, give them a shout out, or show your appreciation in another way. Kindness makes the world go round. 🙂

Becca and Angela have a special RAOK gift waiting for you as well, so hop on over to The Bookshelf Muse to pick it up.

Have you ever participated in or been the recipient of a Random Act Of Kindness?  Let me know in the comments!

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

13 responses »

  1. Hi. I’ve just been to The Bookshelf Muse and recognised your name from reading/following your blog earlier today (I love real coincidences, not just the ones I manipulate plot with).
    I would love to take you up on your offer for a first chapter critique, particularly because I am currently thinking of scrapping my first chapter entirely because I just can’t get it to work. Do you need a synopsis too, or is it better just to read the chapter in isolation?
    Many thanks for your RAOK – I’m just trying to think what I can offer (I don’t think I’m qualified to help critique anyone’s work…)

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Amanda. You can include a synopsis if you like and any specific problem spots that are driving you batty. A RAOK can be anything from a gift card, to anything that shows your appreciation of what they’ve done for or given to you. You decide what RAOK you want to bestow upon them. 🙂

      I’ll be waiting for your email. Please remember to put RAOK and then your title as the subject in the email, so that system doesn’t think it’s spam. 🙂

  2. becca puglisi says:

    What an awesome gift! Congrats to all your commenters who benefit from it. And thanks, Kitty, for spreading the love today!

    Becca @ The Bookshelf Muse

    • kittyb78 says:

      It’s my pleasure Becca. You and Angela have helped so many writers in a variety of ways already. I’m glad to help however I can. 🙂 Thanks for leaving a comment.

  3. Wow, what a super thing to do! Happy RAOK day!

  4. susanroebuck says:

    That must be the most generous offer of all! Lovely. I’m a day late, but kindness is for always, isn’t it?

  5. Angela Yuriko Smith says:

    Happy Belated RAOK Day! What a great idea… I wish I hadn’t missed it because it would have made a great post ;D My favorite RAOK is from an editor, Amy Eye. She tells me what I’m doing wrong so I can make it better – I’d rather hear it from her now than the reviewers later. My favorite RAOK to do is play Bookcrossing – every Wednesday I have fun sending one of my books out into the world to find a needy reader.

    I’m glad to have found your blog and look forward to revisiting!

  6. Maryellen Brady says:

    I’ve been visiting all the RAOK blogs. What an amazing gift! I hope you are enjoying the week 🙂

  7. […] because look at home TheBookShelfMuse and their followers rocked the writing community with their #RAOKBlitz. We had a huge turnout that lasted well over a week. That wouldn’t have happened if I were […]

Feel free to leave a Reply

