If you don’t show confidence in your own work, then chances are no matter how good the writing, or plot is, no one else will think it’s worth the spit you polish your belt buckle with.

Recently I received two compliments on the first page of my manuscript.

“Your writing is clean and crisp. {thank you!}”

That made me smile. I’ve worked hard to make my writing look professional and it’s great to see that hard work paying off.

“Great job setting up such high stakes and grabbing reader interest from the get-go.”

Hearing this let me know that my opening hook does indeed do it’s job. Which I’ve worked hard to achieve.

I was also given several tips on how to tighten the prose as a whole, and how to better draw the readers into the story and keep them immersed, rather than unintentionally pulling them out of it. Which is not an easy task to accomplish, especially in the beginning. Yet it’s vital in order to write a compelling story.

My point is that D.T. it’s finally shaping up into an exciting read and it’s starting to “feel” like a real book.

In my opinion, that’s the best compliment any writer striving to get a manuscript turned into a published novel can ever receive.

However, none of this would have been possible if I hadn’t been confident enough to keep at it, or if I hadn’t been confident enough to let a professional read it.

Over the past couple years I’ve learned to trust in my writing voice and in my writing in general. To trust in the story I need to tell. Throughout the countless revisions {and trust me there have been at least five on the opening scene alone} I’ve striven to stay positive about the story I’m writing and the way I’m writing it.

Now I’m not saying it’s been easy. In fact, many times I’ve been tempted to pitch it in the trash-bin and start a fresh one. But, I’m too stubborn to just give up after putting so much blood, sweat, and tears into it over the past few years.

Ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you: “She’s nothing if not stubborn.” My husband, sitting beside me, shook his head yes. *grin* It’s the truth and I’m not ashamed of it either. Being stubborn has seen me through some harsh times, in and out of writing.

Bottom line?

If you don’t believe in what you’re writing, why should anyone else? Patience, persistence, and confidence are key components that all the great writers have in common.

P.S. This post appears in a fabulous writers/editors collaboration at thirdsundaybc. Feel free to check out the other fabulous articles there. They are quite useful. šŸ™‚

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

3 responses »

  1. Well said. I never lose faith in my writng or voice, it’s where my strengh lies. I learned that lesson in a workshop a while ago – trusitng your writer’s instinct– helps the writer stay true to their story. I confess I don’t like waiting or living through the find an agent process – drives me batty.

  2. […] Barton presents HaveĀ Confidence posted at Kitty’s Inner Thoughts, saying, “One of the main keys to becoming a […]

Feel free to leave a Reply

