Today my friend who is a Marine, messaged me and we spent two hours talking.

Since he joined the Marines I usually get a quick one line message and if I’m lucky a second one line message, maybe every four to six weeks.

I miss the long conversations we used to have, but fully understand he’s busy these days. Since we’re both writers, we have a lot in common and therefore a lot to discuss. My father is a Marine {he was honorably discharged when I was a kid} as well, so that gives us more to discuss.

We used to talk for hours at a time and even bounced writing ideas off each other. I always look forward to talking with him. His courage and determination leave me awe time and again. I know he’s more than capable of protecting himself, yet I still worry about him, especially when I don’t hear from him in a while.

I’m grateful he chose to spend those couple hours talking to me. I’ve been feeling a bit stressed lately over life in general and find myself time and again wishing I could talk to him about it, so this was a welcomed change. It kind of felt like old times.

Plus, I got to read two new chapters to one of his fanfics. I’m so happy right now. His writing always puts things in perspective for me. He’s a wonderful friend and always makes me smile.

Semper Fi.

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

3 responses »

  1. She Started It says:

    My writing mentor is a Marine writer. He always signs off emails with Semper Fi.

    Gotta love Marine writers!

    • kittyb78 says:

      Marines are awesome! One of my closest friends is a Marine and the toughest person I know both physically and mentally. He’s also one of my favorite writers. 🙂

  2. […] I miss him. Last time we actually talked was right after he’d been put back into rotation. Follow this link to read about it. So, even though I know he’s tough {I’m talking MMA and Marines tough} I’ve been […]

Feel free to leave a Reply

