Hello everyone. It’s Monday and you know what that means…. Time for Marketing Mondays.Yeah, I know I’ve been a stranger lately. Sorry. Real life has kicked in hard and fast. Aug-March are all the birthdays in my family, so I’m usually very busy in that time frame. Before that I was focused on writing commitments. Hopefully things will get back to normal now.

Today’s discussion is about Street Teams.

Advantages of Having a Street Team:

  • Word of Mouth
  • More Exposure
  • Extra Help Promoting/Marketing
  • A Place to Bounce Ideas
  • Lighter Workloads = More Time to Write

What is a Street Team? Basically it’s a group of your loyalist fans who are as excited about your books as you are and are willing to go on cyber space and out into the streets and help spread the word.

Where do you find the members to create a Street Team? From your fans.

Now, I don’t have a street team myself, but I am a member of two different street teams. M.L. Stephens’, and Krystal Shannan’s, both of which with their latest releases made 3 of the top 100′s lists on Amazon within the first 48 hours of their latest releases. Bear in mind both of these talented ladies have at least 6 books each published now, so they already have a loyal audience.

Do Street Teams work? From what I’ve seen so far {I won’t go into details out of respect for both ladies, but general tips I will share.} the answer is yes. But, it takes a lot of work to create and maintain a Street Team. Just like connecting with readers to help expand your audience, because tour team members could be in places you’d never reach otherwise. The added exposure is well worth the effort of maintaining a Street Team.

Street Teams require interacting with your team members, who are also your fans.  You set up lists of blogs you want to contact to help promote your release, discuss what Swag you want to use to help promote the books, ect. Once the lists are made, you divide the lists between the members and start contacting them, and after the launch is over, you send personalized thank-yous to each blog who helped.

free-picture-023

Be patient. It doesn’t happen overnight. Street teams take time and effort to be successful. You all celebrate the successes together as it was a team effort that got you there.

As for the offline part, the Swag you send to your team members is passed out at their local libraries, book events, Book clubs, writing conferences, ect.  In short. Your Street Team is a group of loyal fans who happily help with promoting your books. This is all about Marketing on a much wider base than an author can handle alone.

Added bonus: With the extra help promoting your work, it frees up more time for your writing.

Is having a Street team required? No. It’s not a requirement, it’s a choice. But, it certainly couldn’t hurt. You get added exposure to a larger audience, who might otherwise never learn of you.

Should you create a Street team? That’s a decision only you can make. So many factors come into play here, finances, time commitment, ect. Authors all face different road blocks, so they have to make their own decisions based on those.

There is no magic formula for creating a Street Team.

There are no specific requirements either. Both teams I’m on have done Swag, time commitments and interactions. Those three steps are no-brainers. The rest is up to you and your team. Don’t be afraid to ask their opinions. Ask their suggestions for blogs in your niche. Remember, this is a team effort. You must work as a team if you are to be successful. Yes, you need a team leader {usually the author} but it’s a team effort. Excluding your members is a good way to guarantee your team fails.

Why I don’t have a Street Team. Several reasons. Here are the three main ones.

A: I’m just starting out as an author, getting my name and my books out there. Yes, I have fans, no I haven’t approached them to ask if they are interested in joining my Street Team.  With only two published works now, I’m very much a “newbie” to the party and I’m working hard to make my brand known.

B: Finances are really tight and have been for over eight years, so I can’t afford Swag and all that at this moment  Street Team Swag , a professional website and securing my personal domain online, all require money. So, they are on my “to do when I have the financial means” list. Unfortunately until my finances improve, there is a lot of stuff I won’t be able to do.

C: Time commitment. Right now I have so much other stuff {both writing related and real life} going  on that I don’t have the required time to invest into creating a successful Street Team. I do interact with my readers and other authors through various events and groups, ect. But, I’m a full-time mother/house wife and looking for work. I can’t spend all day/night online. I have other priorities.

Your Turn To Sound Off:

Authors and readers: Are you part of a street team for other authors? Readers, would you be willing to join your favorite author’s Street team if they created one? Why, or why not?  Authors, do you have a street team for your books? If not, why not? Do you plan to create one in the future? Feel free to share some of your Street Team experiences and tips with us.

P.S. This article appears in a editors/writers collaboration: here.

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

One response »

  1. […] Barton presents Street Teams – Marketing Mondays. posted at Kitty’s Inner Thoughts, saying, “Do you have a Street Team for your books? How […]

Feel free to leave a Reply

