Hello everyone, time for another Marketing Mondays tip. Today we’re discussing social networks,

Point blank, it seems to be one of the necessary parts of expanding your readership. Stuff like Twitter, blogs, Facebook, ect, can be awesome ways to connect authors to their current readers,  and to help broaden their audience.

How many of you started following this blog because you saw me on Twitter, or a friend recommended me? Word of mouth is still a vital part of expanding our audiences, but it’s not the only way. Just because people recommend you, doesn’t guarantee others will follow you either. It depends on what content you have to offer them, and how they can get a hold of you if they have further questions.

Let’s face it. marketing and publishing are both becoming a more hands on business.  Even if you do get a publishing contract, most time you will be responsible for your own marketing. So, how are you going to do that? Have you given it any thought yet? What will you do to spread the word about your book release?

A good way to do this is by joining blog hops, or hosting blog tours. Another good way is by guest posting on other blogs, or doing free giveaways during interviews and stuff. Another way is to write up a professional press release and send it to the local newspapers.

My point is, you have to help promote your book if you want it to have any chance of succeeding. It’s a slow process and doesn’t happen overnight. It takes time, and patience. You can’t just promote you stuff either, help a fellow author out and promote theirs as well.

Twitter especially is a prime example of this. If all you do is self promos, it becomes spam and a lot of people will ignore your posts.  If you go 25% self promos, with 75% other promos, of other authors, then you’re more of a team player, and are more likely to get help promoting your books and blog posts.

There are any number of ways to help promote book releases. One of my favorite ways to connect with potential readers is through Goodreads discussions. Numerous groups hold different discussions on different topics. I stick to books in my genres and those I like to read, so I don’t overwhelm myself with the discussion topics either.

The point is, you have to get out there and participate, in order to get your name and books out there. Just don’t over do it, to where you have no time to write those books.

Yeah Twitter is fun, and can get addictive. Any  social media can become addictive, so we need to limit our time on social media.

Connecting with our readers, and our potential readers is always important. But, so is finishing our novels. So, how do you plan to balance connecting with readers, and broadening your audience, while finishing your current WIP?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

73 responses »

  1. Emma says:

    I’m terrible at limiting how much time I spend on Twitter and other social networks.

  2. Thanks for the good writeup. It actually was once a entertainment account it. Look complicated to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

  3. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am inspired! Very useful information particularly the last section :) I maintain such information a lot. I used to be seeking this particular information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  4. I just want to mention I am just beginner to blogging and site-building and absolutely loved this website. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You really come with fantastic posts. Thank you for sharing your website.

  5. Tamika says:

    I blog frequently and I really thank you for
    your content. This great article has truly peaked my interest.
    I’m going to take a note of your website and keep checking for new information about once a week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

  6. chickenman says:

    Keep on writing, great job!

  7. click here says:

    You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  8. click here says:

    I’m also writing to make you know what a great experience my child obtained browsing the blog. She mastered plenty of details, including what it is like to possess a wonderful giving mood to have the others smoothly know chosen impossible things. You actually exceeded her expected results. Thank you for rendering these productive, trustworthy, revealing and in addition unique guidance on this topic to Lizeth.

  9. Great website. Lots of helpful info here. I am sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you to your sweat!

  10. That could be the greatest blog for anyone who desires to search out out about this subject. You realize so considerably its practically exhausting to argue with you (not that I truly would require aHa). You positively put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Excellent stuff, simply excellent!

  11. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your internet site provided us with valuable details to function on. You have done an impressive job and our complete community is going to be grateful to you.

  12. read this says:

    I feel this is among the most significant information for me. And i am happy reading your article. But wanna statement on some basic things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is actually great : D. Just right task, cheers

  13. Hola! I just noticed your web page: Marketing Mondays – Social Networks kittyb78 when I was surfing around delicious.com. It looks as though someone liked your website so much they decided to bookmark it. I’ll positively be returning here more often.

  14. Fantastic blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Appreciate it!

  15. click here says:

    I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very glad that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

  16. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this info for my mission.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello. Information is available pretty much any where if you look hard enough. What I post here is my personal experiences with writing and marketing. Thanks for taking time to comment. Feel free to return any time. :)

  17. click here says:

    Good – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs and related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Nice task..

  18. click here says:

    Thanks for your write-up. I also believe laptop computers have grown to be more and more popular currently, and now will often be the only form of computer included in a household. Simply because at the same time they are becoming more and more reasonably priced, their processing power is growing to the point where these are as effective as pc’s coming from just a few years back.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello, thanks for taking time to comment. Laptops are so convenient to take with you, so they are quite popular, and reasonable priced. feel free to return any time. :)

  19. that site says:

    Great items from you, man. I’ve take into account your stuff prior to and you are just too great. I really like what you have received right here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which in which you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and you still care for to stay it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. That is really a terrific web site.

  20. dawei 388a says:

    Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

    • kittyb78 says:

      hello Dawei, I had no idea I was on Yahoo news. That’s awesome! All I can say is keep promoting your blog through twitter, facebook, writer’s groups, ect. That is what I did. The radio interview helped too. :) Feel free to return any time and thank s for commenting. :)

  21. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. Many thanks

  22. Thanks for this excellent post!

  23. Just a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great style and design.

  24. Can I simply say what a reduction to search out somebody who actually knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know how one can deliver a problem to light and make it important. Extra people have to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant consider youre no more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  25. sennik24 says:

    It is really a great and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  26. Fajne says:

    I comparable this web blog very much hence a lot magnificent information.

  27. Real instructive and wonderful anatomical structure of articles , now that’s user pleasant (:.

  28. buy here says:

    Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share. Kudos!

  29. Smieszne says:

    Whats up. Very cool blog!! Guy .. Excellent .. Fantastic .. I will bookmark your locate and assume the feeds additionally…I’m in high spirits to locate numerous helpful in order here in the post. Gratitude for sharing…

  30. You made some clear points there. I did a search on the subject and found most individuals will agree with your website.

  31. This Site says:

    I believe you have observed some very interesting points , regards for the post.

  32. Trent Puerto says:

    I view something genuinely special in this internet site.

  33. An outstanding share! I have immediately forwarded this on a friend who had been conducting a insignificant training by this. With he in piece of evidence bought me dinner simply since I establish it for him… lol. Accordingly consent to me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! Except yeah, thanx for spending some period to talk in relation to this matter here proceeding your internet site.

  34. I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  35. SBOBET says:

    I’ve recently started a web site, the info you provide on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  36. Joey Stibb says:

    It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information. I am satisfied that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  37. Agen Bola says:

    Hey very nice site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I’m happy to find numerous useful info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  38. buy here says:

    I think other web-site proprietors should take this website as an model, very clean and excellent user friendly style and design, as well as the content. You’re an expert in this topic!

  39. In case all of the sites usually are connected with these good quality because the one you have, often the network was to an excellent location! Outstanding work, keep up!

  40. I’m starting up a online blog directory and was wanting to know if I can submit your site? I’m trying to increase my directory slowly by hand so that it retains top quality. I will make sure and put your website in the correct category and I’ll additionally use, “Marketing Mondays – Social Networks kittyb78″ as your anchor text. Please be sure to let me know if this is okay with you by e-mailing me at: kupingcentelan@aol.com. Bless you

Feel free to leave a Reply

