Wow! I will say this much. Being on thebestpeopleweknow has certainly given me much wider exposure.

I’m just under 1,100 Twitter followers now, and growing by the day. My new goal is 1,500. Will you help me get there?

Plus, when I search my nickname, name, book title, or blog name, they are all at the top of the results lists. SEO may not be a problem for me anymore. :)

At #MFRW we’re working hard to perfect our pitches, for September’s big pitch event. Over 29 publishers will be listening to our members pitch their novels in one-on-one, six minute sessions.

So far, I’ve learned how vital it is to narrow the focus, and showcase the elements that make my novel stand out among all the others in my genre. A real eye opener. I won’t be participating in the actual pitch sessions, because I’m self pubbed, and my current MS is a little over half finished. But, it’s fun helping the others and it’s a great learning experience in case I do decide later down the road to go the publisher route.

I’m sure our members will do great and there will be quite a few sales. One of the requirements is to have a complete, edited manuscript to pitch. Our members have worked hard to prepare their pitches and it shows.

As for the blog… I’m thinking of changing a few things. Aside from blog tours, blog hops, and promos, I think I’ll cut back to structure everything.

Writer Tip Wednesdays. That’s what I plan to do, once the restructuring is complete. Wednesdays will focus solely on the craft.

After November. I won’t cancel the tours and hops and such already planned.  But, this place needs to get back to it’s roots. Trying to focus on everything, everyday has taken away from the main purpose I created this blog. It’s not just about me and my success thus far. Yeah it’s nice, but that isn’t why I created this place. I created this blog so I could help other writers learn to improve their crafts.

Maybe I’ll change start Marketing Tip Mondays, where I’ll occasional updates on how mine have worked.

I like that. Nice and structured.

What do you think? Remember this blog isn’t just about me. It’s about all of us and what we go through on our journeys.

“Pay it Forward” is about writers helping writers, period. In my humble opinion that is what being a writing community should be about. Help others when and how you can. Share your knowledge. That is why we start blogs for writers. It isn’t just bragging rights when we succeed. It’s about giving back to our community.

I know I’m not the only writer who feels like this, because look at home TheBookShelfMuse and their followers rocked the writing community with their #RAOKBlitz. We had a huge turnout that lasted well over a week. That wouldn’t have happened if I were the only one who embraces the Pay It Forward attitude.

Writers, and readers, feel free to voice your opinions here. I appreciate all of my followers and your participation. Give your feedback on these issues. Let your voices be heard. :)

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

4 responses »

  1. I look forward to your new content. And congrats on your radio interview. I listened and it was informative.

  2. Emma says:

    I love the writing blogging community. It’s fun to help each other out, and most people are friendly.

Feel free to leave a Reply

