Having grown up watching most of Bruce Lee’s movies {Chinese Connection, Fists of Fury, ect} I have to say that “The Last Dragon” really amuses me.

“Bruce Leroy’s” character is touted as the biggest Bruce lee fan, yet is a master of the arts himself. Throughout the movie he’s searching for “the master”, only to discover in the end that he is the master he was searching for. I thought it a lovely tribute to the memory of a great martial artist.

Some of you may not know this, but I am a Black Dragon Kung Fu Instructor. My husband and I both learned from the former linage holder of the Black Dragon style. Sifu is a great teacher, strict, yet patient. I will always be grateful for his instruction. My first hand knowledge allows me to keep my fight scenes accurate and that helps improve my writing craft.

To be honest, I think watching all the Bruce Lee movies, and Kung Fu TV series {which by the way, was Bruce Lee’s brain child. He wanted to call it “The Warrior.” and wanted it to take place in “the old west.”} had a big influence in why I’m fascinated by martial arts, especially Kung Fu.

 


I like the peace it gave me and the focus I’ve received. Mostly I like knowing that I can defend myself in most situations and can pass that knowledge to others. My family will also learn it eventually. Inf act, we started teaching the kids when they were fairly young. I know some other styles as well, but to me Kung Fu will always come first.

I do want to make it clear that despite what you see on TV and in the movies, King Fu is not meant for showing off. That’s only in the competitions. Kung Fu originated in the temples as a means for Monks to defend themselves.

Kung Fu moves either maim, or kill. Which is the biggest reason it is banned from things such as the MMA {mixed martial arts} competitions.  It is not something to be used or taken lightly! As with all self defense tactics, it takes practice and building muscle memory can be rather useful. If you cease to practice it can become rusty.

Have you studied any martial arts? If you had a chance to study martial arts, which style would you choose?

 

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

6 responses »

  1. If I were younger and still interested in hand-to-hand self-defense, I would choose Aiki-Jujitsu and Wing Chun. I was inspired by Bruce too (Fist of Fury – a.k.a The Big Boss, Chinese Connection – a.k.a. Fist of Fury, Return of the Dragon, Enter the Dragon, and Parts of the Game of Death (The real Bruce Lee Parts) I am also fan of his philosophies (The Tao of Jeet Kune Do) and concepts (Way of the intercepting fist).

    I also liked The Kung Fu series. I use to walk around slowly and speak to people like I was Kwai Chang Caine. “I am…..Caine……let me…….help….you.” I wanted to kill the emperor too, after he had Master Po Killed. Master Po was the best.

    Now that I am older, I decided to study Tai Chi for the purpose of moving like Water.

    Martial Arts can definitely help with writing fight scenes.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hi Brian, thanks for commenting. You mentioned some of his best movies.
      Sadly I never saw the last season of TV series. Maybe someday. :)
      I did like Caine’s character though and his son as a cop was just too cool. :)
      Tai Chi can be very soothing. I especially like the breathing exercises.
      I also used to enjoy the Aikido style that Steven Segal used his his movies, until they got ridiculous from the 90′s on.
      Please return any time.

      • I forgot about that Kung Fu Series, I was actually talking about the Series from the 70′s. I like the Series you were speaking of too.

        Yeah Steve got goofy. I only really like Above the Law anyway.

      • kittyb78 says:

        I figured. The original series was before my time. :) But I’d love to see it someday.

        I’m a bit partial to Under Siege as well. Above the law was good and I didn’t mind Marked For Death either. Pretty much all others after it got too weird for me.

  2. PK Hrezo says:

    That’s so cool! I loved Bruce Lee too. Such a loss,a s well as with his son Brandon. I took a few months of chung moo do, but really favored the tai chi. It made such a difference in my life even to this day. My hubby is a black belt in wei chi ru. Hoping to get the kids on the wagon with it. :)

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello PK, thanks for taking time to leave a response. :)
      Brandon Lee was part of the Kung Fu TV Series for a while. I liked him best though in the first “The Crow” movie.
      Losing both of them was a huge blow. I do like other such as Jet Li, Jackie Chan, too. Feel free to return anytime. :)

Feel free to leave a Reply

