Warning, I’m buried knee deep in my current WIP and will be for some time.

First, I just received my 503rd follower on Twitter! Can you believe it? Next goal for me is 750 followers.Will you help me reach it?

Second, I gained my 59th blog follower! Thanks so much everyone. Next goal is 100 blog followers. {yeah I know, my goals are small. But I take baby steps. :)}

Here are the promised photos of my first paperback proof copy {7.5×9 = child’s book size}

     So yeah, definitely needs re-sized!

Now onto the writing updates.

I Just started chapter thirteen today. I also {for grins and giggles} formatted it for the proof book size {5×8} and it came to 233 pages! That’s over 40K words, which is half a physical novel. Actual romance novels run 4.5×7 and between 400-450 pages. The closest Createspace gets to that book size is 5×8 {a common photograph size.}

I’m elated to see everything is finally coming together. All that hard work and frustration is shaping the book into a nice, relaxing read. Of course I have notes in the separate chapter files for the changes that still need made during the next round of revisions. But the master copy is just my twelve chapters already written out. Which has renewed my vigor to finish ironing it out.

You see, I’m a bit different than most writers. My first draft gets edited along the way. If something sticks out so bad my mind refuses to let it go, I have to fix it before I can move on. This is the second manuscript I’ve done this with and I’m happy with the results. Writing it all out first as a rough draft doesn’t work for me. i did that for Nano in Nov last year and ended up with 84k+ words and little plot. Never again! I’ll stick to revising as I go. It works for me and according to the reviews I’ve gotten and the crits I get, it’s working just fine.

The new proof  of the paperback edition will be 106 pages long for the five chapter preview. That’s double what the old one was. {I guess size really does make a difference.}

I’m about to upload the new PDF for the preview to Createspace, then just have to wait for hubby to re-size the cover art, submit everything for review…

Then I wait, lol. After the files have been approved I get to order a new proof and go from there.

To keep me occupied, I’ve got my next round of critiques sent in at all but one of the crit groups. Going to submit them to it tonight. Busy weekend, but I love it! Ah the joys {and frustrations} of being a published writer. I keep reminding myself  to look for the silver linings and not dwell on the trials.

My Marine friend is a great inspiration to me. Something he said over a year ago still sticks with me and always will. Seeing as we’re both martial artists as well, his “You gotta roll with the punches.” comment is always fresh in my mind. I’ve never heard a wiser statement. Or one that accurately applies to both of our lives, off the mat.

So, tell me what topics you’d like to see discussed and I’ll see what I can come up with. This isn’t about me ladies and gents, it’s about us. We’re all part of the writing community.

What are some of your trouble areas? What’s next on your writing agenda? What about promotions? Has anything someone close said to you stuck in your mind over the years? Who was it and what did they say? Do you look for the silver linings? Come on, don’t be shy. Share it with us. :)

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

7 responses »

  1. Matilda says:

    Actually, most writers edit along the way. I know very few who don’t.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello Matilda, thanks for leaving a comment.
      I’m glad it’s not just me. :) Most of the ones I’ve talked to say they write it out as a rough draft/first draft and then edit.
      Feel free to drop by any time. :)

      • Matilda says:

        No problem :)

        Well, they say they don’t, but it’s a lie. I know I edit all the time while I’m writing the rough draft.

      • kittyb78 says:

        True. I’m forever going back to change things that refuse to stay out of my head. XD

        Makes it better next read through too. :)

  2. Very good info can be found on this web site.

  3. Wow, incredible weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The full glance of your web site is wonderful, let alone the content!

Feel free to leave a Reply

