Time for a little break from the usual self publishing columns. Today, I’d like to cover something else.

Poetry.

When it comes to poetry I admit I’m an amateur. Let’s be honest here. Poetry is hard! I’m not much good at it, but I’ have practiced a bit.

Here are a couple poems I wrote over a year ago for my husband.

Only Bliss.

Surrounded by mist

We dance and twist

Our bodies in tune

Beneath the moon

Both in our prime

In a rhythm old as time

Entangled like this

We know only bliss

My one, my only.

Cold and lonely was my life

Lost in darkness knowing only strife

Forever to drown in sorrow and shame

Until into my life you came

Appearing before me pure as a dove

To show and teach me a miracle called love

Never again will I be lonely

Thanks to you, my one, my only.

P.S. The final piece is my first attempt at symbolism done a few years ago:

Overcoming Obstacles:

A pristine white lion ran through the trees and brush, trying to wear itself out in an attempt to forget the wyvern. The lion was covered with many scars from his past.

When he finally tired out and could run no more, he reverted to human form and lay on the ground panting as he reflected how he’d received each of his scars.

The first was from a lion, he’d thought, maybe she’s the one, but instead she attacked, and wounded him deeply.

The second was from a badger, he thought perhaps this time, he’d be able to sooth the critter, but alas, that one wounded him too.

The third was from a tiger, he’d stayed by his tiger for a long time and made sure she was safe, but in the end, she attacked and scarred him too.

Next was the wyvern, he’d come across her when he’d healed from the rest, but instead she’d deceived him; using deceitful lies and guilt to try to keep him.

His piercing green eyes clouded over, and flashes of anger crashed out like thunder, as raw emotion seeped from the clouds, like a stormy sea tumbling with angry waves.

His fists clenched and he sighed, his eyes now filled with a haunting sadness. He wondered if any of his animals would ever truly accept him.

He stared down at the scar upon his thigh and sighed. Hearing a noise he looked into the sky a spotted the phoenix. She mystically soared high above him and would often visit him.

Out of the collection of cedar, and olive trees all around him, came his friend the cat. She’d disappear from time to time, but she always returned to him. She cheered him up and the phoenix made him smile.

With a rustle behind him, came his other friend, the unicorn. She was without a doubt the most innocent of all the animals in the forest.

A smile spread across his face as he remembered he wasn’t alone anymore. Thanks to the phoenix, cat, and unicorn, he’d never be alone again.

Still deep inside he felt like something was missing. He wasn’t lonely per say anymore, just wasn’t complete yet. He sighed and wondered if he’d ever find his true place in the world.

He tilted his head back while petting the cat and phoenix and sighed. Suddenly something caught his eye. It was a pristine white dove that flew down to him. He held out his hand and the dove perched on his finger, holding a twig from an olive tree in its mouth, as well as that of cedar.

Staring into his eyes, the dove released the branches in his palm and spoke, delivering a message. “Hold on dear lion and be cautious of the tarantulas that lay in the path ahead of you, for your journey has only begun.” The dove then flew back into the sky and disappeared; as the emerald eyed man sat there pondering what had just happened.

Have you ever tried your hand at poetry or symbolism? What do you think of poetry and symbolism?                              

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

8 responses »

  1. repair pc says:

    Wonderful post however , I was wanting to know if you could
    write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Many thanks!

    • kittyb78 says:

      I’m actually just touching this subject myself. However over at thirdsundaycarnival they have an entire section dedicated just to poetry and the like. I’m sure they can help you.

      Sorry I’m unable to be of more help. Feel free to drop in anytime and thanks for stopping by and commenting. :)

  2. I gave you a link back on one of my pr3 pages, I hope this is ok.

  3. I gave you a link back on one of my pr6 pages, I hope this is ok.

  4. Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Thank you!

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello. Thanks for your kind words. This blog is full of advice for aspiring writers. Personally, until you get the hang of blogging on a regular basis, I’d suggest going for a free platform like wordpress.

      I had a blog with blogger as well, but prefer the ease of wordpress. Fell free to return any time, and browse around. I’ve done dozens of posts just with aspiring writers in mind, including ways to improve their writing craft. :)

Feel free to leave a Reply

