Thanks for following along as I share my self publishing journey with you!

It helps not to go through this alone. My family has been super supportive as have you, my readers.

I keep checking smashwords and Amazon, staring at my book cover and thinking “I did It! I’m a bon-a-fide published Author!” It feels great to see my hard work out there and actually live on the web. It makes me happy to learn I’ve gained new readers/fans and had my e-book preview downloaded more times.

Over on my facebook Author page I’ve hit 181 likes. I remember a while back sitting here and wondering if I’d ever reach 100. Now my goal is 250. I keep telling myself: “Let’s take this one small step at a time.”

Speaking of steps…. there are less than twelve hours until I’m supposed to hear back from Createspace about whether or not my formatting for the paperback is accepted and what my next steps should be.

So here I am, waiting…

I hate waiting, lol. Never was good at it.

Even when I was pregnant {especially the first time} I always wondered “What if..?” and “Is everything okay?” I’ve come to realize, that’s normal for first time parents.

Over at smashwords my book preview has been downloaded 48 times, liked 48 times, added to 6 libraries, and has 3 5-star reviews and 1 4-star review.  I’m waiting for the reviews to pick up. Plus, my e-book preview is still pending addition to the Premium Catalog. {Ugh, more waiting, lol.}

I’d love to hit 100 downloads and at least 25 reviews. Those are my goals for smashwords right now. Nothing too extravagant. Just another small step.

On Twitter I’ve hit 176 followers! My new goal is to hit 250 there.

My nervousness has kicked in…

All the “Am I doing the right things?” and the “Am I promoting enough to get it out there, but not enough to piss people on twitter and facebook off.” questions have started kicking around in my head.

With very few reviews, I wonder whether or not people actually enjoy what they read of it. With little feedback from the readers thus far I don’t know where else or how else to improve it for the final product.

Have any of you gone through this with your first book release? Did you get nerves so bad that the questions above made your belly knot and palms sweat?

Share some of your experiences with me and show me I’m not alone here. This is normal, right?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

4 responses »

  1. Emma says:

    Downloaded it from Smashwords and followed on Twitter. Hope I help you reach those goals :)

  2. kittyb78 says:

    Awesome Emma! Thank you. XD I hope you enjoyed the preview. :)

  3. I am really enjoying your five-chapter preview. I do have some feedback, comments on scenes, the odd typo, which I would love to send to you. The only thing is I’m reading a kindle version and don’t know how to annotate it or reference stuff, as there are no page numbers! If you are interested in my thoughts, let me know, and I’ll find a way to collate them.

Feel free to leave a Reply

