I’ve been nominated for the the Kreativ Blogger Award, twice!  Huge thanks to EvaRieder and BocaFrau for nominating me. This is my first time being nominated for any blogger award.

Eva is a fellow SheWrites member, and is an author of both fantasy and contemporary/mainstream fiction and has an Anthology of her work being published around May 16th. Congratulations Eva!

BocaFrua has some very breath taking pictures on her site. Be sure to check them out.

As per the Kreativ Blogger Award rules I must:

A: thank my nominator and provide a link to their blog.

B: list seven things that readers might find interesting about me.

C: nominate seven other bloggers.

So without further ado…

Seven things readers might find interesting about me:

One: I am a licensed Black Dragon Kung Fu Instructor. I adore martial arts, always have. It’s a fabulous way to keep in shape and spend quality time with those you love. It’s a wonderful way to teach young children self discipline as well.

Two: I’m the oldest of four. From Nine years on I took care of the house and kids, so I thought I was more than prepared when I became a mom. Boy was that silly of me. It’s a whole new ball game when they are fully your children. I adore every minute of motherhood, even the ones that make me want to pull my hair out. *grin*

Three: My first job was as a waitress. Ah fun times…

Four: I wanted to be a singer. The whole time growing up I wanted to become a country singer. I always sang and read, never wrote. Yet here I am a writer. Strange how life changes as you grow up, huh?

Five: In the first quarter of the 9th grade, I was the only person in an entire class that  could tell the teacher the difference between a catfish and a hard-head {both are types of fish} and the entire school lived next to the ocean.

Six: A lot of people, especially teenagers assume I’m a teenager when they first talk to me. Does that mean I act younger than my real age? *grin*

Seven: I was home-schooled from 9th grade to 12th grade. After graduating I took two and a half years of ITT tech courses for computer repair, and no, I’m not a repair tech. I’m a writer, that is my true passion.

Here are seven fabulous blogs I chose to nominate and think you should check out:

TheBookShelfMuse: Angela and Becca have helped so many writers, especially the new ones, in too many ways to count. I visit their blog every time they update. You should check it out. You won’t be sorry.

NovelGirl: I have learned a lot following Rebecca. “books, writing advice, and author interviews” only scratches the surface of what she provides her readers with.

Peggy Isaacs: Her “What I Learned This Week” section is both informative and often time amusing.

Krist D. Ball: This lady is inspiring. She’s a Fantasy and Sci-fi writer, who in my humble opinion is a mater at world-building.

Jenny Hansen: This lady covers a variety of subjects from writing tips, to crafting tips. Very enlightening.

Novels from the Ground Up: The title is pretty self explanatory. This site covers various aspects of crafting a novel brick by brick from the ground up.

Changes of Man: He’s a real “down to earth” dad, trying to do the best he can with what life has thrown at him. His posts drive home just how much each of us struggle with the way the economy is, yet he’s found a productive way to weather the storm.

To wrap up, I’d like to thank all of my wonderful readers. Your comments keep me going. I’d also like to once again thank Eva and Boca for nominating me. Such an honor.

P.S. I’m not sure on how the rules work for double nominations. So if I still need to list more facts about me and blogs to nominate, please be sure to tell me. Thanks.

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

9 responses »

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Holy cowbell, Kitty! Thanks for the award. I am traditionally TERRIBLE at jumping on these, so don’t be bummed if you don’t see a response before June. I love it, and appreciate it so much.

    And wowzer! A Kung Fu instructor?! I love knowing people who can teach me how to kick some a$$. :-)

  2. becca puglisi says:

    Thanks for the award, Kitty! I’ve been so crazed with this release I’ve barely had time to think. An award is nice, right about now :)

    Becca @ The Bookshelf Muse

    • kittyb78 says:

      You’re welcome for the nomination. :) You two totally deserve every award there is for all you’ve done and continue to do for your {our} fellow writers. I’m stoked about tomorrow. :D

  3. angelaackerman says:

    You are awesome–thank you for this! What a great award and I love these type ones because it allows us all to get to know the blogger a bit more.

    And I think it’s great people think you’re a teen! Boy I wish!! :)

    • kittyb78 says:

      You’re very welcome. Both of you deserve it.

      Aw, thanks. Don’t know why but I seem to be the person they confide in too. A few years back one of the teens I spoke to, found me {like out of the blue} and told me how much he appreciated me being there during his struggling teen years. His Mama is only a few years older than me and had a rough time raising three kids alone. He told me he’s now a daddy and then rick rolled me with “Never Gonna Give You Up” :) Now that was awesome, because I’d been bummed for about a month when he popped out of nowhere. :)

  4. [...] I have been nominated for the Kreativ Blogger Award by kittyb78.  She’s a fellow writer who just happens to be a Black Dragon Kung Fu instructor.  [...]

Feel free to leave a Reply

