Lately I have been so caught up in promoting my writing, building new connections by growing my platforms, reaching a wider audience, ect. that it’s become a chore, instead of a new and exciting adventure. I haven’t had any time to do any actual writing in two weeks now.

So, time to take a deep breath and step back, so I can return to my real passion: writing.

Promoting your work is a vital part of a successful book launch, but it can distract from giving your novel your complete attention too. I’m going to take it in strides by devoting one day a week to all the promotion aspects, and maybe an hour a day. The rest of the week I need to focus on my family, and my writing.

If I’m so caught up with promoting things that I don’t have time or energy for writing, I’ll never give my book the TLC it needs to grow into a true gem. So yeah, that’s my advice for the day.  Take it in strides. ;)

Now for the pet peeve…

Writers who don’t take time to research for their books.

Research isn’t fun all the time, but it is necessary in order to give accurate portrayals in your books.

I recently finished reading “Loramendi’s Story” by Angela Carlie, {you can read my review here: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/326926761}

It is painfully obvious this writer didn’t do her homework.

During my mid to late teen years I lived at the firing range of the local gun club. I shot everything from a 9MM to a double barreled shotgun. Every gun has some kind of kickback to it, from jerking the hand a bit {9MM} to bruising the shoulder {double barreled shotgun, which if it’s not properly tucked against said shoulder, will break the shoulder.}

First complaint: She didn’t account for any kickback at all.

Second point: The only “handgun” capable of causing a big bear to bleed profusely is a .44 magnum {which can crack an engine block, and that’s not going to “fit inside a shorts pocket” by any means.}

I’m not a fan of doing research just to write books either, but I at least want my readers to get an accurate picture of what happens.

What’s some of your pet peeves when reading stories?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

4 responses »

  1. When something doesn’t make sense, or add up. I’m all for fantasy and science-fiction, but some folks seem to think it would be so easy to write fantasy ’cause you just get to make it all up. Well, it still has to make sense, have a pattern, a reason. You can make the sky purple and the grass red, but think about it before you make the leaves yellow. Why are they yellow? And does it make sense if the grass is red? There is a reason they are both green here on Earth. Make some plans, figure things out before you create a fantasy world.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Thanks for commenting. I totally agree. When I started out, I thought Fantasy would be easy to write too. I had no idea so much research goes into any genre of writing. It’s like a necessary chore, lol. To some people research is wonderful. To me it depends on the subject.

  2. Found your lovely site browsing Third Sunday Blog Carnival. I’ll have something posted there in June. What you’re describing is becoming a major headache for writers. Then again, the way our minds are challenged to adopt to the PR jungle, we may well find the right balance. The last post on my site talks about the random creative process, indirectly, through an draft excerpt of a sequel I’m writing.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello, welcome to my site. Thanks for taking time to drop by and leave a response. :)

      ThirdSundayBlogCarnival is awesome. I have several articles in their previous issues and submitted one for June as well.

      It can be a nightmare, but in order to give accurate info in our books, it’s our responsibility as authors to research what we need to know, that way our readers get the best quality reading experience we can offer them..

Feel free to leave a Reply

