April13th-20th 5minutesformom is holding an awesome blog party and I’ve decided to join in. It seems like an awesome way to meet other mothers and people who blog out there. You can read all about it in their blog post here: http://www.5minutesformom.com/53933/ultimate-blog-party-2012-tips-tricks/

Kitty’s Inner Thoughts specializes in the craft of writing and in book reviews.

As of today I’ve had three articles appear in a writers and editors collaboration called Third Sunday Blog Carnival which is chocked full of incredible advice about writing and improving the craft.

http://kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/scenes/

http://kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/opening-hooks/

http://kittyb78.wordpress.com/2012/02/04/dialogue/

But often times I will include snippets of family time or time with the kids.

For instance today while they played outside, I watched their faces light up when they saw their first night-crawler {a fishing worm} and watching the my youngest jump around was funny. It gave me a small nugget of description for one of my scenes. Watching their faces as they watch the clouds float by or the storms builds I try to see the world through their eyes, from a fresh perspective not yet hardened by the realities of being an adult. It reminded me of how carefree child hood should be.

Hello fellow mothers and bloggers alike. My name is Catrina and I’m a novelist who is always looking for ways to improve her craft. I love to read and write, cook, hike, camp, fish, and do martial arts. Most of all I enjoy spending time with my children and my husband. Our little family consists of four. :)

I can be found here:

https://twitter.com/#!/Kittyb78

http://www.facebook.com/KittyB78

My favorite colors are blue and yellow, favorite drink is green tea with honey. The rest you’ll have to learn as we get to know each other better.

Don’t be shy, drop a comment and share something about yourself and your blog. Be sure to leave a link so I can visit you too. :)

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

14 responses »

  1. I like my green tea with honey, too. :) It’s so nice to meet you. Hope you are enjoying the party.

  2. MissMOE says:

    Nice to meet you Catrina! I’m a mom of five who also love to write—looking forward to getting to know you a bit more.

    • kittyb78 says:

      Hello. Pleasure to meet you. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t work on at least one scene. Looking forward to getting to know you better too. :)

  3. Hi Kitty – thanks for stopping by my blog for the UBP!

  4. Janie Reinart says:

    Hi Catrina,
    I’m a mom, grandmommy, and writer too! I just love playing with words. Stopping by from the UBP. Come and visit me at http://www.loveyoumorethanyouknow.com
    Happy writing.
    Janie

  5. Gillian says:

    Hi Kitty thanks for stopping by my blog for UBP12. I love to read too snap (although the children have dampened that somewhat). As for writing, thoughts of writing a book have been put on hold so I’ve settled for a blog on my passion, fitness and good nutrition. I hope you’re still enjoying the party. I’m going to pop across to your Facebook and Twitter accounts now to continue the connection

    • kittyb78 says:

      I’m having a wonderful time. Fitness and nutrition are so important, especially for writers. In order to give our best in every scene, we must first take care of our bodies and minds. :)

  6. Hi, Kitty!

    I am stopping by from the UBParty. This is my first one and I am really enjoying it! It is a great way to “meet” new friends and fellow bloggers. I am new to blogging so I am looking forward to learning lots of new things during my first year of blogging.

    I, too, always had a book in my hands as I was growing up ~ I still do since I work in the Children’s Dept. of my local library. LOL! In fact, I love sharing books so much that I started a blog to be able to share them with more people. I hope you will stop by and say “hi” when you get a moment. I’m at librarystorytimeabcs.blogspot.com

    Enjoy your evening with your family!
    K

  7. kylinsmom says:

    Followed you over from my blog! Thanks for stopping by and commenting :) I love what you have going on here, and I’m looking forward to reading more! Happy Ultimate Blog Party!

Feel free to leave a Reply

