Okay, my surprised I’d planned for this week’s post hasn’t worked out. So instead we will talk about something else instead.

I was surfing Youtube last night for some research on accents and came across some songs that bring back so many memories of my childhood. Teenage years actually.

For those of you who read Never Forget. You’ll see that I grew up in Texas. All over Texas actually. So the music I grew up with consists mostly of Country songs. Few songs actually speak to me these days. But I’m going to rattle off some and tell you why and how they spoke to me, and how they affect my writing.

The first time my world was shattered I was twelve. So the song “You have The Right To Remain Silent” by Perfect Stranger always brought me comfort. At that age I held so many secrets, some I’ve just started to reveal to the people closest to me. {I’m usually a very private person.} This song still brings tears to my eyes because even all these years later it still speaks to me. I was a quiet kid, withdrawn into my shell. All I wanted was for everyone to leave me alone, because I didn’t want to risk being hurt again. But like all teenage girls I longed to find a guy who would love and accept me for who and what I am. More than once I’ve written fanfics along this same line when I’m in the mood to write romantic little one shots where the girl has been hurt and is wary about getting together with the guy.

The next one is “She Can’t Say I Didn’t Cry.” By Rick Trevino. I’ve always been soothed by his voice, but that song really stood out to me and still does. For someone to be willing to acknowledge their faults and still show how much they love the person they wronged… it’s heartwarming. I’ve kept this song in mind for the scenes where old flames run across each other again. To me at least it keeps the emotions upfront and very strong, which transfers them into the scenes.

The next is “Running Out Of Reasons To Run.” also by Rick Trevino. I spent my entire teen years running away from myself, not to mention hiding from the people around me. So to hear about someone who finally found the strength to stop running gave me hope that someday I could too. I keep this one in mind when I finally have the wild guy/girl finally meet the person they are meant to settle down with. It invokes in me such a feeling of surrendering without caring that they are surrendering, because they’re too deep in love to mind.

The one is “When You Say Nothing At All” by Allison Kraus. I’ve always believed that true love is the strongest bond a couple can share. That when you’re so deep in love, that you can finish each others’ sentences and sense each others’ feelings. That silent communication between lovers is one of their greatest gifts to one another. This is the one I call on when I want to show just how deep a couple’s connection goes in my scenes.

The next one which speaks to me the most of them all is “A Soldier’s Prayer” by Collin Raye. I can’t count how many relatives I’ve had in different wars and even today are still there. This song talks about the power of prayer in the midst of war and how vital hope is to everyone. Especially the men and women facing untold dangers day and night. So many of our loved ones are risking their lives for what they believe in and so many of us here at home spend countless hours praying for their safety. This speaks very powerfully to me.

The final one I’m going to mention isn’t country, but it’s every bit as special to me. “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey. This is one of my all time favorites to listen to while writing the scenes with the badboy and the girl next door archetypes. I feel this one creates an atmosphere where they can meet and get to learn the true people inside of each other. I also feel this is the perfect song to represent what the badboy faces day in and day out. Anyone who reads my work knows I have a soft spot for the badboy archetype. There is just something about them and figuring out what makes them tick that I can never resist.

What are some of the songs that speak to you? Do you have a favorite archetype you write about? Why?

About kittyb78

Catrina Barton is a licensed Kung-Fu Instructor of the Black Dragon style, and draws on that experience to make her fight scenes both realistic and action packed. She enjoys being surrounded by the stark beauty of mother nature. Whether it's a moon-lit starry sky, or a picnic by a peaceful waterfall cascading from the mountain side. Growing up no matter where she was physically, she always had at least one book in her hands and spent every free moment lost in a book. It's only natural that as she grew up, her passion for reading grew into an even stronger passion for writing, especially Young Adult Paranormal Romances. She is a proud member of many writing and marketing groups, and an active participant at Critique Circle and several other crit groups. Favorite personal quote: "An author cannot grow without both constructive criticism and encouragement."

Feel free to leave a Reply

